
how-to block ads
|
 norwegian Premium join:2005-02-15 Outback
·WestNet Broadband
1 edit | strange email- Birthday please gday all
not sure if its here or security it needs to be
i just got this email , its not anyone i know, but being that there is a link in it, can someone check it out for me please
move to its proper place mods, im not sure where to ask the question
From: Joy Cook Add Address Subject: Birthday please Date: Wed, 6 Jul 2005 00:05:05 +0000 (GMT) To: norwegian Attachments: 0 Printer Friendly Version
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi
Click on the link below and please enter your birthday for me. I am creating a birthday list of all my friends and family.
»www.BirthdayAlarm.com/bd2/477390···8518d904
Many thanks Joy | |
|   nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| Re: strange email Sometimes people make mistakes, and think they are sending to somebody they know.
I would ignore this for now. The chances are that this is not part of a widespread scam.
Hmm. I suggest you edit your title line, and change it to "Birthday please". That will make it more informative in case other have similar experiences they want to add to the thread (i.e. if it is part of a scam). | |
|   norwegian Premium join:2005-02-15 Outback
·WestNet Broadband
| gday nwrickert
i dont have access to edit anymore for the post, so im not sure how to go about changing the title, maybe the mods can do it if you think changing the name is worth while
did you click on the link at all, i havent as i realise the implications if it isnt a correct link | |
|  |   nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| Re: strange email If you decide you want to change the subject line, then click on the "hey mods" at the end of your article (the first post) and ask moderators to change.
Yes, I clicked on your link. It looked rather benign to me. It reminds me of "123greetings.com", and seems to offer somewhat similar services. Personally, I would not use such a site (either the one you posted or 123greetings). I was not impressed when somebody sent me something from 123greetings, and the screen with the electronic greeting card was full of advertisements. Still, there doesn't appear to be anything malicious about those sites.
Granted, I cannot guarantee it is benign. I'm using a mozilla browser on unix, and it is conceivable that it checks browser/system and only acts maliciously for IE on a windows box.
I cannot guess why you would get that from a stranger. It could just be the result of a dumb innocent mistake. Or it could be somebody trying to lure you for some other purpose. | |
|   norwegian Premium join:2005-02-15 Outback | these sites are out there, and i thought it might be a normal one, just one of the idiosyncrasies of the internet | |
|   njrichie
join:2001-04-13 Matawan, NJ
·Optimum Online
| I did receive one of these birthday emails and checked into it. I first did not recognize the person who sent it but I checked into it and found that it was sent by someone that I spoke to a long time ago. I contacted the person who verified that they did send that email through the site.
I did not provide that information simply because there is too much identity thief going on. The site was legit but I was not comfortable providing that information. This site if hacked could be a treasure honey pot of info. | |
|  |  | |  |
|