  EGeezer Spring is here Premium join:2002-08-04 Central Ohio
·RoadRunner Cable
·AT&T CallVantage
edit: July 23rd, @12:28AM
| [phishing] Bank of the West phish *snicker*
Yeh, this really sounds convincing... 
A bit different language than pcdebb 's gem. Sorry Deb, didn't see your post or I'd have put this in your topic.
The email came from what is probably a compromised system in McClelland, CA. IP of 69.62.171.122 . DNS records are hosed.
said by phish:
At the Bank of the West, we take protecting your financial information seriously. We recognize and respect your right to privacy when it comes to your personal financial information. Please attend to our request to our active consumers to protect them of online fraud and frequent rising scam attacks against our financial institution.
Actually, we are performing security improvements of our banking community and enforce customers to register their sensitive information for an additionally created free security service to prevent any fraudulent activity against their assets and savings. We, hereby ask you to respond within few hours of current notification and complete security application form via our SSL protected website to apply for this service absolutely for free, otherwise your account(s) may not process posted transactions correctly and on time.
Please visit us to apply
edit - added link (broken)
ht tp:/ / www.fullfbi.fr//bankofthewest/bankofthewest/www.bankofthewest.com/index.php
-- Every Good Electrical Engineer Zeroes Each Register |
|
  EGeezer Spring is here Premium join:2002-08-04 Central Ohio
·RoadRunner Cable
·AT&T CallVantage
| Got another one, same text - again sent from what's likely a compromised PC at 212.104.107.26 -
New server for phish site at
ht tp:/ /212.104.107.26/bankofthewest.com/OnlineBanking/= dhjz9188210updatecc1os9dbt919aamnainfo/update.aspx/index.htm
Looks like a MM worm or botnet is being used to propagate this one? -- Every Good Electrical Engineer Zeroes Each Register |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL | Just received one with slightly different wording.
The signup site (in Peru) is: http://200.60.235.177/.www.bankofthewest.com/index.php |
|
  pcdebb Buttercup sees you Premium join:2000-12-03 Tampa, FL clubs:  | reply to EGeezer i've only gotten one. maybe they are cleaning this one up or moving on to another bank |
|
 mrrobingrime
join:2005-09-19 Spring, TX | reply to EGeezer Have a little fun with these scumbags. Paste their link into PhishFighting.com. |
|