republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » $9.95 scam, now from kcsoftllc.com
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
2048
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
YesNIC.com »
« [Scam] Gold Police / Scam-Killer  
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies


Wrath

join:2000-10-31
Philadelphia, PA
·Comcast


edit:
August 28th, @04:13PM

$9.95 scam, now from kcsoftllc.com

Original thread here:
»$9.95 scam.. check your bank statements.
I couldn't reply to it because its too old..

Thought I'd give everyone another heads up. I received a charge to my mastercard debit card for $9.95 on august 22nd, 05 from kc softwarecom llc.

This is a checking account with a MC debit card and paypal linked to it. I have no idea how they could have gotten my information, but I'm calling the 800 number on the back of the card tomorrow...

Oh thought I'd throw this out too. I haven't used this card for anything but ATM usage since about last year when I got my real credit card. Is paypal to blame?

eljay001

join:2004-03-17
South Portland, ME

edit:
August 28th, @05:17PM

Yeah, I had one of those $9.95 charges last month from "ABSOLUTE-SOFT.COM 413-812-5720 CA" on my Visa credit card. I disputed it and the bank did a chargeback, no questions asked.


SnowyOne
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
reply to Wrath
Just in case you haven't seen this, here's some ammo to back up your fraudulent charge position.
»www.kcsoftwares.com/index.php?fraud


Logan 5
Dungeon Runners - Come get your Bling on
Premium,MVM
join:2001-05-25
The WasteLAN
·Pacific Bell - SBC

reply to Wrath
Have you seen this forum?
»Spam, Scam and Phishbusters

It's a probably the best place on this site to post all different types of scams, and from reading your post, it sure looks like you're involved in a scam all right.



Wrath

join:2000-10-31
Philadelphia, PA
·Comcast

said by Logan 5 See Profile :

Have you seen this forum?
»Spam, Scam and Phishbusters

It's a probably the best place on this site to post all different types of scams, and from reading your post, it sure looks like you're involved in a scam all right.

Didn't know that forum existed, but I searched and found that someone posted the issue similar to mine in this forum.. mods can move it if they want to.


BurntCricket
Gotta Do What Ya Gotta Do
Premium
join:2000-09-02
Here
clubs:
reply to Wrath
Some companies just make up numbers >> they know the bank code and submit the charge >> knowing in most cases they will go un-noticed.
--
Follow the Money


deadmeat
Premium
join:2003-03-21
Sonoma, CA
reply to Wrath
I received a 9.95 charge from groupphoenixonline LLC on 8/22/05. I haven't really used the card in awhile and happened to check the online statement... those bastards


SnowyOne
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

»www.wiphey.com/2004/07/06/995-cr···rd-scam/
I don't know Jack about the blogger, but I can verify some of his facts, this in particular,

"They’ve even gone to the point where they have a link on the front page of their site that says “What is EADENS.net billing me for?”."

The few bogus charges I've caught over the years have been sastisfactorly resolved with no more effort than a phone call to the issuer, however the days of safely opening a statement for the sole purpose of getting the balance due & the return envelope out are long gone.


CTD11

@cimcoisp.net

reply to Wrath
I just found the same charge to my VISA debit card posted to my account yesterday from KC Softwarecom LLC. I called the bank to dispute it and will also call the police. I asked the bank to keep me in the loop on the investigation and they said that they don't do any fraud investigation, they will just reverse my charge. They suggested I contact the police and/or FCC to file a complaint with them.


Wrath

join:2000-10-31
Philadelphia, PA
reply to Wrath
Since mine was a debit card, I called the issuing company first, all they did was cancel my card... thanks..
Bank said I have to put everything in writing, so I guess I'll do that tomorrow.


got_one_2

@nash.c

 reply to Wrath
KC Softwares, a French company, posted the following on their website after receiving several complaints about the fraudulent charges...

About Fraudulent purchases

Many persons have contacted us concerning fraudulent purchases charged on their credit cards with a name very similar to our company's name : KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC (from the United States of America).
We are not such company. We are KC Softwares SARL, based in France.

Charged made by our company are explicitely labbeled KC Softwares SARL or Yaskifo. If not then we are NOT the company in cause. We have tried to contact KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC, but without any succes. Here are the information we've got about them :

KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC
Administrative Contact:
Kappel, Jay domains@comsite.org
ComSite
14000 Fremantle Ct.
Bakersfield, California 93314
United States
6615892365 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Kappel, Jay domains@comsite.org
ComSite
14000 Fremantle Ct.
Bakersfield, California 93314
United States
6615892365 Fax --


TippyT

@bellsouth.net
  I found the same charge from KC Softwarecom LLC on my capital one card. I submitted a fraud report and changed my credit card number. The credit card was linked to a paypal account.

JohnGruesome

join:2005-09-12
Commack, NY

 reply to Wrath
I just got my statement today and I too have a $9.95 charge from "KC SOFTWARECOM LLC 509-4611556 NY" made on 08/05. I contacted my credit card company and they cancelled the compromised card. They'll be sending me some paperwork that I have to fill out.
I want to thank everyone who has posted about this. If it wasn't for this thread I wouldn't think that this was a fradulent charge.


justin
Australian
join:1999-05-28
Brooklyn, NY
reply to Wrath
The google searches are starting to find this topic as people look at their bank statements and say, WTF?. I wonder how big it will get.


pcdebb
Buttercup sees you
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Tampa, FL
clubs:
reply to Wrath
i was thinking the same thing. might be Pluto Data part II


justin
Australian
join:1999-05-28
Brooklyn, NY

Host:
IPv6
Business Connectiv..
Home/Office setup ..
Console/Handheld g..
Console Tech
There should be a website called "whatsthatcharge.com" and you enter the company name and amount and get a topic from other people who have tracked down the reason for the charge and convinced their bank to reverse it.

It seems that although these scams can pick different amounts and so on, a single scam is tied with a single little name, usually unique.

visormiser
Premium
join:2004-02-10
Alexandria, VA
·Cox HSI

reply to Wrath
what most credit card holders do not know - and what credit card companies rarely admit or advertise - is that for the most part, charges under $20 are not verified. That is, they are not run through the credit companies' gauntlet of anti-fraud detection services - unless, of course the fraudsters go nuts and make a ton of really small charges all at once. that's part of why these scams are so successful.

thedip

join:2001-02-09
Beaver Falls, PA

reply to justin
quote:
There should be a website called "whatsthatcharge.com" and you enter the company name and amount and get a topic from other people who have tracked down the reason for the charge and convinced their bank to reverse it.

Sounds like a great idea! So when are you going to make it?
On topic, I discovered a charge from KCSOFTWARECOM for the $9.95 while checking my statement, disputed it, and requested a new card be issued and the old one (visa) cancelled. Before the cancellation took effect, they charged me again! When I called about the second charge, it was difficult convincing the person that there were two charges, not one. The person kept saying they had already done a chargeback. I wonder if I had not cancelled that card how many more times it would have been charged...


Wrath

join:2000-10-31
Philadelphia, PA
reply to Wrath
Well my bank gave me my money back today. I'm pretty happy that it only took a week to get it back.

purduephotog

join:2005-09-19
reply to Wrath
They hit me on 8/25 for 9.95. Number listed as
KC SOFTWARECOM LLC 509-4611556 NY Standard Purch 9.95
Thread is
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersYesNIC.com »
« [Scam] Gold Police / Scam-Killer  
page: 1 · 2


Wednesday, 15-Oct 15:48:24 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 9 years online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [131] All Hail the New RIAA Copyright Czar
· [77] More on Comcast's New 22Mbps Speed Tier
· [71] Comcast: Hey, At Least We're Not Hiking Broadband/VoIP Prices
· [54] New 'Economic Stimulus' Plan Includes Universal Broadband
· [38] 72% Of P2P Pirates Would Stop With ISP Warning
· [31] Google: We're Fresh Out Of Androids
· [30] AT&T To Sell U-Verse At Walmart, Circuit City
· [30] Crackberry Addicts Fear Microsoft Takeover
· [28] Unions Want Improper Cable Grounding Inspected, Too
· [27] Virgin: Our 50Mbps Tier Breaks Your Speed Tests
Most people now reading
· Extreme HD and Essentials [Verizon FIOS TV]
· [WotLK] What you guys think of the patch? [World of Warcraft]
· Southern California New HD Watch [Verizon FIOS TV]
· [WotLK] Broken (OP) Holy Paladin Build (Current Beta) [World of Warcraft]
· Sarah Palin Ordered to Preserve Yahoo! Emails [Security]
· [Need Info] Fastest Browser (Windows) [Software]
· [ Classes] Hunters in 3.0.2 (from BRK and WoWInsider.com) [World of Warcraft]
· Official Patch Notes - 3.0.2 [World of Warcraft]
· Adobe Flash Player 10 Released [Security]