  Mordy Comfortably Numb Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07 join:2001-12-02 Denver, CO
·Comcast Formerly ..
| reply to Wrath Re: $9.95 scam, now from kcsoftllc.com
Since we have two active threads on this particular crime, I'm going to close this one, and ask everyone to post new information to this thread »www2.dslreports.com/forum/remark,14439110 -- Give generously to the Red Cross Hurricane Disaster Relief Fund |
|
  Jason Levine Premium join:2001-07-13 USA | reply to justin Hmmm.... the domain name is available. (Nah, I don't have the free time to devote to another site even if this one would be easy to code.) |
|
  Doctor Olds I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me. Premium,VIP join:2001-04-19 1970 442 W30 clubs:
1 edit | reply to Wrath Updating this thread.
I just got hit by these frauds on my credit card (10 year old account - only CC I keep) and have closed the account.
BBB has them listed.
»www.spokane.bbb.org/alerts/alert···wstype=1 quote: KCSOFT LLC Placing Unauthorized Charges on Credit Cards Date: March 24, 2005
KCSOFT LLC Has No Address, Spokane Phone #, Western NY Fax #: Placing Unauthorized Charges of $9.95 on Credit Cards
I hope someone finds them and castrates them.
Regards,
Doctor Olds -- Whats the point of owning a supercar if you cant scare yourself stupid from time to time? |
|
  SOLdesign Did I drink a shot of Irrational Whore? Premium join:2002-07-29 Woodland Hills, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
| reply to justin said by justin :There should be a website called "whatsthatcharge.com" and you enter the company name and amount and get a topic from other people who have tracked down the reason for the charge and convinced their bank to reverse it. google.... thats how many people find these listings!  -- "Why don't you just Xanadu yourself right into the police car sir? Well, why don't you just Xanadont!" - Reno 911 |
|
 purduephotog
join:2005-09-19 | reply to Wrath They hit me on 8/25 for 9.95. Number listed as KC SOFTWARECOM LLC 509-4611556 NY Standard Purch 9.95 |
|
  Wrath
join:2000-10-31 Philadelphia, PA | reply to Wrath Well my bank gave me my money back today. I'm pretty happy that it only took a week to get it back. |
|
 thedip
join:2001-02-09 Beaver Falls, PA
| reply to justin quote: There should be a website called "whatsthatcharge.com" and you enter the company name and amount and get a topic from other people who have tracked down the reason for the charge and convinced their bank to reverse it.
Sounds like a great idea! So when are you going to make it?  On topic, I discovered a charge from KCSOFTWARECOM for the $9.95 while checking my statement, disputed it, and requested a new card be issued and the old one (visa) cancelled. Before the cancellation took effect, they charged me again! When I called about the second charge, it was difficult convincing the person that there were two charges, not one. The person kept saying they had already done a chargeback. I wonder if I had not cancelled that card how many more times it would have been charged... |
|
 visormiser Premium join:2004-02-10 Alexandria, VA
| reply to Wrath what most credit card holders do not know - and what credit card companies rarely admit or advertise - is that for the most part, charges under $20 are not verified. That is, they are not run through the credit companies' gauntlet of anti-fraud detection services - unless, of course the fraudsters go nuts and make a ton of really small charges all at once. that's part of why these scams are so successful. |
|
  justin Australian join:1999-05-28 Brooklyn, NY
Host: IPv6 Business Connectiv.. Home/Office setup .. Console/Handheld g.. Console Tech
| reply to pcdebb There should be a website called "whatsthatcharge.com" and you enter the company name and amount and get a topic from other people who have tracked down the reason for the charge and convinced their bank to reverse it.
It seems that although these scams can pick different amounts and so on, a single scam is tied with a single little name, usually unique. |
|
  pcdebb RIP dadkins Premium join:2000-12-03 Tampa, FL clubs:  | reply to Wrath i was thinking the same thing. might be Pluto Data part II |
|
  justin Australian join:1999-05-28 Brooklyn, NY | reply to Wrath The google searches are starting to find this topic as people look at their bank statements and say, WTF?. I wonder how big it will get. |
|
 JohnGruesome
join:2005-09-12 Commack, NY
| reply to Wrath I just got my statement today and I too have a $9.95 charge from "KC SOFTWARECOM LLC 509-4611556 NY" made on 08/05. I contacted my credit card company and they cancelled the compromised card. They'll be sending me some paperwork that I have to fill out. I want to thank everyone who has posted about this. If it wasn't for this thread I wouldn't think that this was a fradulent charge. |
|
  TippyT
@bellsouth.net | reply to got_one_2 I found the same charge from KC Softwarecom LLC on my capital one card. I submitted a fraud report and changed my credit card number. The credit card was linked to a paypal account. |
|
  got_one_2
@nash.c
| reply to Wrath KC Softwares, a French company, posted the following on their website after receiving several complaints about the fraudulent charges...
About Fraudulent purchases
Many persons have contacted us concerning fraudulent purchases charged on their credit cards with a name very similar to our company's name : KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC (from the United States of America). We are not such company. We are KC Softwares SARL, based in France.
Charged made by our company are explicitely labbeled KC Softwares SARL or Yaskifo. If not then we are NOT the company in cause. We have tried to contact KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC, but without any succes. Here are the information we've got about them :
KCSOFTWARE.COM LLC Administrative Contact: Kappel, Jay domains@comsite.org ComSite 14000 Fremantle Ct. Bakersfield, California 93314 United States 6615892365 Fax -- Technical Contact: Kappel, Jay domains@comsite.org ComSite 14000 Fremantle Ct. Bakersfield, California 93314 United States 6615892365 Fax -- |
|
  Wrath
join:2000-10-31 Philadelphia, PA | reply to Wrath Since mine was a debit card, I called the issuing company first, all they did was cancel my card... thanks.. Bank said I have to put everything in writing, so I guess I'll do that tomorrow. |
|
  CTD11
@cimcoisp.net
| reply to Wrath I just found the same charge to my VISA debit card posted to my account yesterday from KC Softwarecom LLC. I called the bank to dispute it and will also call the police. I asked the bank to keep me in the loop on the investigation and they said that they don't do any fraud investigation, they will just reverse my charge. They suggested I contact the police and/or FCC to file a complaint with them. |
|
  SnowyOne Premium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
| reply to deadmeat »www.wiphey.com/2004/07/06/995-cr···rd-scam/ I don't know Jack about the blogger, but I can verify some of his facts, this in particular,
"Theyve even gone to the point where they have a link on the front page of their site that says What is EADENS.net billing me for?."
The few bogus charges I've caught over the years have been sastisfactorly resolved with no more effort than a phone call to the issuer, however the days of safely opening a statement for the sole purpose of getting the balance due & the return envelope out are long gone. |
|
  deadmeat Premium join:2003-03-21 Sonoma, CA | reply to Wrath I received a 9.95 charge from groupphoenixonline LLC on 8/22/05. I haven't really used the card in awhile and happened to check the online statement... those bastards  |
|
  BurntCricket Gotta Do What Ya Gotta Do Premium join:2000-09-02 Here clubs: | reply to Wrath Some companies just make up numbers >> they know the bank code and submit the charge >> knowing in most cases they will go un-noticed. -- Follow the Money |
|
  Wrath
join:2000-10-31 Philadelphia, PA
| reply to Logan 5 said by Logan 5 :Have you seen this forum? » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersIt's a probably the best place on this site to post all different types of scams, and from reading your post, it sure looks like you're involved in a scam all right. Didn't know that forum existed, but I searched and found that someone posted the issue similar to mine in this forum.. mods can move it if they want to. |
|