  PuZo10
@cable.rogers
| [ Extreme] Rogers e-mail, infringing copyright
I got an e-mail saying my IP has been infringing copyright laws. They said they have the right to take legal action. They said to not reply to the email, but to reply to some guy from »www.visualware.com/
Did anyone else get something like this? Ever since the cap I have slowed down downloading dramatically. Could it be from uploading P2P? They didnt say exactly what it was for, I emailed the guy form the site but he hasnt replied. |
|
 alexpb1
join:2005-06-23 Barrie, ON | so did the email come from an @rogers.com address or what? |
|
  PuZo10
@cable.rogers | reply to PuZo10 Yes, it came form abuse@rogers.com
But it says not to reply there, it says to reply to someone with the e-mail ending with @visualware.com |
|
  Angelo_ The Network Guy Premium join:2002-06-18 | reply to alexpb1 sounds fishy |
|
  PuZo10
@cable.rogers | reply to PuZo10 well I checked the site out. It seems like it coudl be a company helping rogers? I dont know, if i dotn hear a response from him, then ill just have to e-mail rogers and ask if it was sent from them |
|
 PuZo6
join:2005-03-28 Canada
| reply to PuZo10 same person(remembered pass)
I dont think it is. They tell me about the EUA and AUP. I highly doubt it would be fake.
But this whole thing is confusing
this is how it ends off:
Sincerely,
EUA Management Team Rogers Yahoo Hi-Speed Internet
»na.edit.client.yahoo.com/rogers/···rm=terms 00233572
pect a reply, send a plain text email to *******@visualware.com]
thats word for word, dont knwo what the "pect" came from. It seems legit and I dont want to risk it |
|
 puzz1ed
join:2005-02-20 Markham, ON
| reply to PuZo10 VisualWare is a software vendor. Among other things, they make the "myspeed.rogers.com" speedtest.
Apparently, they have contacted Rogers because they found your IP address "sharing" their software. Since they don't know who you are, their first recourse is to notify the ISP (Rogers) that owns your IP address. Rogers, to my knowledge, doesn't generally forward customer details when they receive such notices but will in general notify the customer in question. |
|
  Marshal Premium join:2003-11-01 Montreal | reply to PuZo10 look the header, and look the ip where does it come from ? -- Vidéotron - Download @ 6.5mbits - Upload @ 900 kbits |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | reply to PuZo10 The usual recommendation is to make sure you steer clear of nay products that visualware might sell. |
|
 PuZo6
join:2005-03-28 Canada
1 edit | reply to PuZo10 eMailTrackerPro
thats the only thing I tried, Jun 22 2005. I used a crack for it just to test it. So how should I approach rogers with this? I mean I want to keep downlaidng if I can, but since they said they haev teh right to take legal action, I dont knwo what to do. |
|
 cc86
join:2004-02-24 Waterloo, ON
| reply to PuZo10 said by PuZo10 :
Yes, it came form abuse@rogers.com
But it says not to reply there, it says to reply to someone with the e-mail ending with @visualware.com Looks fishy to me. Rogers email addy for abuse is abuse@rci.rogers.com |
|
  Wolfie00 My dog is an elitist Premium join:2005-03-12
1 edit | reply to PuZo10 Hard to say if this is legit without seeing it -- why don't you check the full email header and see if the originating IP tells you anything. But if this is a scam I can't see what the point of it was.
Rogers is in fact sending emails like this, so this may (or may not) be legit. There was a long and active discussion about this issue in this thread
Assuming this is legit: Rogers cannot give your subscriber info to anyone without a court order, so they use this type of notification to alert you that a copyright infringement notice has been sent to them. Under new legislation that I don't think has been passed yet, an ISP will be legally required to forward such notices. There is nothing you need to do except possibly stop downloading pirated material. It's a bad idea to contact the copyright holder as all you achieve is revealing your identity to them, but if you've already done so don't sweat it. Read the above thread for lots more information.
Edit: It occurs to me that legit emails like this will always include your IP address, what you downloaded, and the date and time and network facility that you downloaded it from. This would be a pretty good indicator that it's legit. |
|
 Cableguy4116
join:2005-09-01 Brampton, ON
| reply to PuZo6 Just another thought...Instead of a file sharing issue, the program may have "called home" to their servers and logged your IP address along with the "cracked" serial number etc., indicating a copyright infringement. The intern contacted Rogers to advise of your improper use of the program. |
|
 magnus2
join:2004-05-23 Ottawa, ON
| reply to PuZo10 I got the same email a few weeks ago after having tried Visualware's VisualRoute with a crack to get it to run.
It dropped in less than 2 hrs after me running it, so it doesn't seem like a conincidence to me, rather that the program is actually calling home. |
|
 primal98
join:2004-08-27
| reply to PuZo10 Yes, it must be calling home. Many not as popular companies(first time I heard of these guys) use call home functions.... usually it is a scare tactic, but if they work with rogers than I am not surprised..... though this is a first, I mean you aren't downloading/uploading anything so WTF :P Probably was a bad crack, and didnt stop the call home. General rule of thumb is to block the prog from accessing the net(firewall and such)... but if, like here, it needs the net for email or sumtin.... then stay clear of it :P Let us know how it goes I wouldnt sweat it too much.... maybe call rogers? I mean a typo... and they want u to contact those guys... strange.
~prime |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| They aren't "working with Rogers". Visualware are simply protecting their rights albeit apparently with a "call home" mechanism.
It's not as if the visualware products are particularly expensive either - but why use cracks when they have demos.
So, they identify Rogers and Rogers notify you they received a complaint about your unauthorized use of software. That's it ... That's Rogers involvement. That's why Rogers tell you to contact visualware and not them. They just acted as a relay.
Now, you have a choice .... you can ignore it (which if you've stopped using the product you may get away with) or you can contact visualware and face the music. Your choice. Of course visualware are an American company so it's difficult to sue you. BUT they can sue you in a US court, which can get a default judgement if you don't appear ... and then depending on the terms you may find yourself with an arrest warrant against you which if you're ever pulled by the cops in the US could get interesting.
So the choice is your. |
|
 darrylr
join:2003-02-10 Nepean, ON | reply to PuZo10 If you are worried about software "calling home" just setup the Windows XP2 firewall or use Zone Alarm. You would be suprised which programs do this and at which times.
-Darryl |
|
  Wolfie00 My dog is an elitist Premium join:2005-03-12
1 edit | reply to PuZo10 The "call home" mechanism is definitely used more than people might suspect (I should have thought of that earlier ) It lets a company track where and when their software is installed and can be used for various purposes, anti-piracy being just one.
I must say that this practice bothers me. I don't condone piracy, but software designed to do this calls home whether it's legit or not, and you have no idea or control over what information is being sent back. For instance it could send back anything from your registry, which contains loads of information about your software, computer usage, and even personal identifying information in many cases.
IMO, it's the software equivalent of buying a toaster that turns out to have a hidden microphone and transmitter in it. It violates the spirit of our privacy laws and IMHO should not be legal!
P.S.- Darryl is right - a properly configured firewall can put a stop to this! I didn't think the XP standard firewall could block outgoing connections in either SP1 or SP2, though -- you would need something like Zone Alarm or Sygate PF. |
|
 puzz1ed
join:2005-02-20 Markham, ON
| VisualRoute intrinsically needs to access the Internet so blocking Net access would be problematic. Also, it's a Java app so unless you want to block all Java apps from accessing the Net it'll be even harder.
I agree with you on this "call home" stuff. Who know what info is being sent. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | Puzzled ... Most of the visual products do access the net , but they do so on standard ports. What you need to block is the Non-standard ports which are usually used for "call home". |
|