  rfnut Premium join:2002-04-27 Fisher, IL
·Mediacom
| reply to caesarv Re: Greeting card virus spam - Autoloaded
 AVG Detected |
AVG caught it right off. |
|
  nwrickert sand groper Premium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest
| reply to caesarv I downloaded, but I won't run it. It is a 920K windows executable. I looked for interesting text messages, but couldn't find any. It does appear to reference KERNEL32.DLL ADVAPI32.DLL COMCTL32.DLL COMDLG32.DLL GDI32.DLL OLE32.DLL SHELL32.DLL USER32.DLL
The chances are high that it is malware.
I suggest that you edit your post to deactivate the link. I usually do that by changing the ":" to "<b>:</b> which puts the colon in bold (not noticable) but prevents the link from being clickable. Someone who really wants to can still cut and paste. |
|
  Mordy Comfortably Numb Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07 join:2001-12-02 Denver, CO
·Comcast Formerly ..
| reply to caesarv It's this »us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.···k=100021
Only mcafee found it (I scanned with quite a few different scanners). Seems like a pretty old virus. -- Give generously to the Red Cross Hurricane Disaster Relief Fund |
|
  Dude111 An Awesome Dude Premium join:2003-08-04 USA
·Time Warner VOIP
| reply to caesarv I went to the site and a file download box opened and wanted to DL "postcard041083.jpg.exe" (I assume that is the date April 10 1983) I DLed it and my AV did not flag it as a bad file,HOWEVER,I AM NOT GONNA EXECUTE IT (Just in case)
Anyone else?? |
|
  caesarv
join:1999-08-02 Santa Rosa, CA
1 edit | I got this obvious fake greeting card email that wanted me to click on a fake link that went to »61.120.121.218 /%7Ecustomer/index.html, which I believe may be in Japan. I tried to avoid clicking on the link, but my curiosity got the better of me. I first tried just the IP address alone but nothing was there. I then tried the entire link and the page immediately loaded AND a download was immediately started (BTW, I use Firefox 1.06). The file name was something that ended in .jpg.exe so I am fairly certain it was nothing good, not that I was expecting anything good! Anyhow, I quickly canceled the download and left the site.
Any brave souls out there with a disposable computer want to figure out what that really is? If it automatically downloaded the file, would it have automatically executed it too?
Edit: I added a space in the URL to prevent accidental clicking of the entire link. Now you will only get to the harmless parent directory. |
|