 suzi Premium join:2004-05-01
| reply to Wyrdwad Re: Giant red RazeSpyware ad replaced my desktop!!
Razespyware is indeed a rogue application, and a very nasty one at that. It is distributed through security exploits and it hijacks users' desktops. It's similar to PSGuard. Just because an app listed at download.com, cnet or zdnet, does not mean it's a decent app, unfortunately. I'll be contacting them about this one.
Some info about it here:
»netrn.net/spywareblog/archives/2···r-rogue/
On the rogue anti-spyware page, Eric Howes wrote:
quote: RazeSpyware Domains: razespyware.com, razespyware.net, spywaredollars.com
aggressive, deceptive advertising (1, 2); reported hijacks (1, 2, 3, 4, 5); false positives work as goad to purchase; poor scan reporting - Note: other domains associated w/ RazeSpyware include: scanthenet.com, spyware-spyware.org [A: 3-31-05 / U: 9-10-05]
The numbers 1,2,3,4 are links to hijacking reports & HijackThis logs where people are complaining about it and needing help to get rid of it.
»www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_ant···products -- aka Suzi, Spyware Warrior Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005 Sunbelt Software Consultant |