 B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28
| reply to Jon Geb Re: So I keep getting this paypal email
Here's what »virusscan.jotti.org had to say:
Packers detected: FSG Scanner results AntiVir Found Trojan/Dldr.Agent.YU ArcaVir Found Trojan.Downloader.Agent.Yu Avast Found Win32:Trojano-2816 AVG Antivirus Found Downloader.Agent.ASQ BitDefender Found Trojan.Downloader.Agent.YU ClamAV Found Trojan.Downloader.Agent-205 Dr.Web Found Trojan.DownLoader.5239 F-Prot Antivirus Found W32/Downloader.JUU Fortinet Found W32/Clagger.A-dldr Kaspersky Anti-Virus Found Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Agent.yu NOD32 Found Win32/TrojanClicker.Small.GP Norman Virus Control Found W32/DLoader.LZM UNA Found nothing VBA32 Found Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Agent.yu FYI. Interestingly, none of these identify it as part of a worm; one might assume that either (a) this is a directed attack against you or more likely (b) it's a new worm using ASQ as its seed.
-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function |
|
 mdoc1
join:2005-11-18 U.S.A. | reply to Jon Geb Forward the email to spoof@paypal.com so they'll know about it. |
|
 B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28
| reply to Jon Geb Of course it's a worm; some poor sap has you in his or her address book.
There's actually a live sample on a mailing list that I was able to Google up rather quickly based on your text (xml.org) -- AVG identifies it as Downloader.Agent.ASQ, which appears to be the same as Delf -- »www.sophos.com/virusinfo/analyse···asq.html
Just don't go near the attachments, and keep your antivirus program up to date.
-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function |
|
  mmainprize
join:2001-12-06 Houghton Lake, MI
| reply to Jon Geb This is a fake e-mail, PayPal did not send it.
If you check the source code you will see that the link will not be to a real PayPal site. Of course if it has an .exe attached then is has a payload and is most likly a visurs or trogan horse of some sort.
Just delete them |
|
  CruiserMD Premium join:2003-04-26 Beltsville, MD | reply to Jon Geb Ive gotten the same e-mail a few times. Im pretty sure its a physhing scam. Dont click on the link. |
|
  Jon Geb Wal-Mart Sucks
join:2001-01-09 Howell, MI
| I keep getting this email OVER and OVER. It comes with an attached EXE file as well. Whats the deal? Any clues?
Dear PayPal user,
We are currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures. Your account has been randomly selected for this maintenance, and you will now be taken through a series of identity verification pages. Protecting the security of your PayPal account is our primary concern, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
We recently received a report of unauthorized credit card use associated with this account. As a precaution, we have limited access to you PayPal account in order to protect against future unauthorized transactions.You can check your transaction details in attachment.
Case ID Number: PE-901-449-020
Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account. Thank you, PayPal Billing Center. |
|