
how-to block ads
|
  lolwhat We Are Toast Premium join:2001-06-11 USSA
·AT&T Midwest
·Future Nine Corpor..
| Phish, privacy policy violation, or... ?
I received an e-mail (at the bottom of this post) in a mailbox that I used to have associated with my Cingular account. It had a Cingular look-and-feel to it, using the Cingular Web site's color scheme and everything. It didn't use my name once, nor did it have an opt-out link. All links in the message were in a similar format to the following:
»www.cingular-email.com/cingular/···605&rd=2
These then redirected me to the Cingular Web site. I couldn't tell whether cingular-email.com is using an exploit of some sort. A visit to www.cingular-email.com gives a blank page.
When I got my Cingular account, I made sure to uncheck the "Please send me Cingular news and special offers via e-mail" box. I just verified that that box was still unchecked, and yep, it is. So, what do you think? Privacy policy violation, sophisticated phishing expedition using some exploit, or Cingular just handing out personal info willy-nilly? I won't bother calling Cingular, unless someone here can tell me who at Cingular may actually care (read: not Tier-1 Customer Service).
said by the domain's registrar, DirectNIC : Registrant: Direct Services 10390 USA Today Way Miramar, FL 33025 US 954-433-9810x107
Domain Name: CINGULAR-EMAIL.COM
Administrative Contact: Kardys, Jim jim@directservices.com 10390 USA Today Way Miramar, FL 33025 US 954-433-9810x107
Technical Contact: Kardys, Jim jim@directservices.com 10390 USA Today Way Miramar, FL 33025 US 954-433-9810x107
Record expires on 02-28-2007 Record created on 02-28-2005
Domain servers in listed order: NS.NETTOGO.NET 216.21.64.15 NS1.NETTOGO.NET 216.21.64.16 NS2.NETTOGO.NET 216.21.64.17 NS3.NETTOGO.NET 216.21.64.18 NS4.NETTOGO.NET 216.21.64.19
said by e-mail : X-Apparently-To: (old e-mail address) via 209.73.178.133; Wed, 21 Dec 2005 17:06:46 -0800 X-Originating-IP: [216.21.69.180] Return-Path: Authentication-Results: mta223.mail.scd.yahoo.com from=cingular-email.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig) Received: from 216.21.69.180 (EHLO tccservice.com) (216.21.69.180) by mta223.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 21 Dec 2005 17:06:46 -0800 Received: from mail pickup service by tccservice.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC; Wed, 21 Dec 2005 19:57:17 -0500 From: "Cingular Wireless" Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert To: (old e-mail address) Subject: Cingular Online Account Update Date: Wed, 21 Dec 2005 19:57:16 -0500 MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="----=_NextPart_000_6B9C08_01C60668.BE78C8B0" X-BPS1: (old e-mail address) X-BPS2: f121905 X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.224 Message-ID: X-OriginalArrivalTime: 22 Dec 2005 00:57:17.0093 (UTC) FILETIME=[A7728550:01C60692] Content-Length: 3267 Cingular Wireless Welcome Cingular Cingular Now its even easier to access your account information online. Log in today to:
View your bill View more in-depth device help Check your current minutes Use the improved search Manage your rate plan And so much more
Customer Forums Communicate with other Cingular customers. Register for your customer forums and enjoy the growing Cingular customer communities today. GO Phone and Device Support Set ring tones and graphics Using text-messaging/SMS Learn about your phone options GO Contact Information Get Cingular electronic and telephone contact information. GO Common Questions Find answers to our most commonly asked questions. GO Cingular Advantage
The largest mobile to mobile community. The ALLOVER(sm) network, covering more than 270 million people in the top 100 U.S. markets. The ability to carry over your unused minutes from month to month. As a Cingular customer, you enjoy these benefits and more:
Allover Network. The largest digial voice & data network in America. More Bars in More Places
50 Million & Counting - The largest Mobile to Mobile calling community. Join the Family
Rollover Balance - Carry over your unused funds to the next month. Save Your Funds Please do not reply to this e-mail, as it will go to an unmonitored mailbox.
| |  B Premium,MVM join:2000-10-28
| Hard to tell for sure, but it seems as if they're using a semi-legitimate junk mail house for an outsourced marketing campaign (and your old address was harvested from their records).
Direct Services seems to be part of »www.imarketingstrategy.com
-- B -- In a realm outside causality and function | |  MGD Premium,MVM join:2002-07-31 Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 edit | I agree,...subcontracted targeted marketing.
The CINGULAR-EMAIL.COM domain shows up on FW forums in phone order processing correspondence. Though the »www.directservices.com is now just a login page, you can view an archive of their old pages here: »web.archive.org/web/*/http://dir···ices.com Where they promote: "customer relationship marketing and prospecting programs"
The link which re directs to the Cingular page, is a way of tracking and recording the response from the "campaign"
MGD
Edit=added text | |
|