republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » EBay Phish scam - a new approach
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
199
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Credit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!! »
« [Scam] Nepco investigated for UK scam  
AuthorAll Replies

keithAA

join:2000-12-03
Shelton, CT

EBay Phish scam - a new approach

I received a Phish email yesterday that was a new technique that I hadn't see prior.
The email appeared to be a "Question from a buyer" email identical to those you would receive if contacted thru an Ebay Auction.
The subject line and body of the email were very authentic looking except the item number referenced in the subject line, and in the body of the email were different items.

The text of the question was basically a person asking where the item was they bought two months ago, and if they didn't hear back from me the police were going to be called..blah blah blah.

Since I hadn't sold any Laptops on Ebay, I knew something was up and tried searching both item numbers.
One was invalid, one was a different item.

I then was clicked on the link in the email that is supposed to take you directly to view the item.

The usual Ebay login screen came up and I noticed an irregularity in the URL so that confirmed my suspicions.

A pretty clever variant that I thought I'd try to get the word out about.


Mordy
Comfortably Numb
Premium,MVM,ExMod 2004-07
join:2001-12-02
Denver, CO
If you still have it, can you go here and send it to the phish-tracker: »/phishtrack

Thanks for the heads up - it would be good to get a look at this scam.

Poincare
Premium
join:2002-01-13
·Verizon Online DSL

reply to keithAA
I just got a similar email, actually two that were duplicates. It said they were trying to pay me & my Paypal account was not accepting it.

Since I don’t have that email address listed with either eBay or Paypal, it was obviously a scam. And the auction it referenced had a date of several months ago.

It was authentic looking, and some of the links appeared to be eBay UK.
When I used BBR WhoIs on other links, it showed them as Moscow Russia based.

keithAA

join:2000-12-03
Shelton, CT
reply to Mordy
Unfortunately I don't still have it.
I emptied the trash, and thought I had left it in my inbox.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersCredit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!! »
« [Scam] Nepco investigated for UK scam  


Wednesday, 09-Dec 22:31:31 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [200] Sprint Sued For Distracted Driving Death
· [107] AT&T Launching New 24 Mbps U-Verse Tier
· [82] 3G Network Test Says AT&T Is Tops
· [72] Mediacom Unveils 105 Mbps Pricing
· [66] Sprint Poised For A Turnaround?
· [64] WPA Cracker: Test WPA-PSK Networks In 20 Minutes
· [58] AT&T Hints At Usage-Based iPhone Data Pricing
· [51] The Future Of Wi-Fi Is Bright
· [47] Site Leaks Yahoo, Verizon Fed Data Share Pricing
· [44] Microwaving Your Innards Is Not 'Extreme'
Most people now reading
· Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.42.34 [Security]
· Hot Girl falls face first down stairs [56k Lookout (Broadband Heavy)]
· Is sleeping similar to being dead? [General Questions]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Road Runnner up to 50 mbps is ready ! [Road Runner]
· ICC Strats??? [World of Warcraft]
· RG Firmware update to VDSL2 this morning [AT&T U-verse]
· ICC strats [World of Warcraft]