Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » Credit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!!
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Scam] Is This A Scam or a Front for One? »
« EBay Phish scam - a new approach  
AuthorAll Replies

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to MGD
Re: Credit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!!

I re searched using different variations on the above "new" names and have now found old reports of fraudulent charges under 3 of them, the others still appear fresh.

CYBERMAMBO.com : I found a fraud report from back on 01/04/05 »64.233.187.104/search?q=cache:6L···BO&hl=en

AZBUSPROD.com : Multiple fraudulent charges show up as AZ BUSINESS PRODUCTS »www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&···%22+9.95

JMBUSPROD.com : Also multiple fraudulent charges under JM BUSINESS PRODUCTS »www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&···cts+9.95

Again all the cloned websites are set up for two primary reasons.

1) To enable the criminal to apply and get approved for an online merchant card processing account, using the website and domain name as a reference. They can then batch upload the the charges against the stolen card accounts.

2) To enable victims who discover and question the nominal charge a method of contacting the scammers. They will then issue a credit which reduces the "charge back ratio", saves them money, and slows the flagging process. Victims can either contact them via email or the cheap rent a voip mailbox. If they initiate contact the victims will be told that someone must have stolen and used their card data to buy products from them online. This steers suspicion away from the scammers.

So the website is just a front, or cover. There is really nothing for sale, and it is not even capable of completing an online purchase.

All the websites even have a meta tag in the main header field requesting that search engines not follow any of the links or index any of the pages !!.

>META NAME="ROBOTS" CONTENT="NOINDEX, NOFOLLOW">

Victims should never provide details to the scammers to enable them to issue a credit, that helps them. Always have your bank charge it back, and always cancel the card immediately.

MGD
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Scam] Is This A Scam or a Front for One? »
« EBay Phish scam - a new approach  


Saturday, 28-Nov 16:06:20 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [122] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [76] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [70] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [62] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [62] Weekend Open Thread
· [40] EFF Wages War On Fine Print
Most people now reading
· ToC 4th boss - Preliminary Strategy for Twin Valkyr [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Why would I want an e reader? [General Questions]
· Using AirMax to provide triple play services? [Wireless Service Providers]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Blade servers [TekSavvy]
· What is the spell hit cap for a lvl 80 full arcane spec mage [World of Warcraft]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· Blue Ray: Samsung BD-P3600 or LG BD390 [Audio/Video Chat]