Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Scam] Is This A Scam or a Front for One?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
784
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Phishing] Federal Trade Commission »
« Credit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!!  
AuthorAll Replies


Stock Trader

@aol.com

 [Scam] Is This A Scam or a Front for One?

I am a stock trader and recently read in a weekly paper about a message board called EliteTrader.com They have all kinds of different forums but most of them seem rather childish and not geared to the real serious trader. There is even one person with the handle of "Rubberbird" who seems to be a lunatic...

But right before leaving the site I found one of there forums there called chit chat that does not show on their homepage or list of forms listed on the home page..In this forum I see this long thread about Ponzi schemes and I was shocked in a way that who ever owns this elite trader.com would allow such a thing on a stock forum. One person posting the most on this ponzi thread even registered a domain name for what they have going on using Elite-Trader.com so I am wondering if anyone here can tell me if this is some sort of scam?

I tried to do a whois search for EliteTrader.com but nothing came up??? so I thought I would ask here where some of you are real experts in things like this.

Here is a link to that ponzi thread..towards the end as it is rather long. but hopeuflly you can figure out what is going on, if anything.

»elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.ph···mber=145

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL


1 edit
The EliteTrader domain is registered to Baron Robertson, and has been since 1997. Based on my cursory review I don't see anything that would indicate a scam. Mr Robertson and his website appears to be frequently mentioned in the daytrading publications. Another indicator that passes the inital smell test is that he publishes his address and phone number on both the website and domain registration, which up until a few months ago was his residence. The property was also titled in his name. The first rule of scamming is don't leave a path to your front door.

Domain Name: ELITETRADER.COM

Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Robertson, Baron
brobertson[]CFL.RR.COM
8251 Lake Serene Dr.
Orlando, FL 32836
US
Phone: (407) 226-0705
Fax: (407) 226-0706

Record expires on 27-May-2008
Record created on 28-May-1997


Mr robertson also owns daytradingstocks.com and daytradingthemarkets.com Back in 2003 Mr Robertson was mentioned and quoted in a US News and world Report article: »www.usnews.com/usnews/biztech/ar···isky.htm on daytrading, where he said that his forum then had over 17,000 members. Elitetrader.com appears to be supported by advertising revenue and has free membership.

I only briefly reviewed the thread that you mentioned, however the story of registering elite-trader.com for nefarious purposes does not match the record, since that domain though dormant, has been registered since 2002:

Domain Name.......... elite-trader.com
Creation Date........ 2002-07-20
Registration Date.... 2002-07-20
Expiry Date.......... 2006-07-20
Organisation Name.... faiq mammadov
Organisation Address. 32 rue du mole
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. geneva
Organisation Address. 1201
Organisation Address. GE
Organisation Address. SWITZERLAND

Admin Name........... faiq mammadov
Admin Address........ 32 rue du mole
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ geneva
Admin Address........ 1201
Admin Address........ GE
Admin Address........ SWITZERLAND
Admin Email.......... ilham20[]yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +41792170969


The only ponzi type scheme that I seen posters writing about was "paid auto surf". I agree that some of the postings in the thread that you linked to indicated a less than stellar IQ. I am not sure how well some of those forums are moderated, I did not review the others. Again, I cannot "vouch" for them, however, I don't see any indications of any organized nefarious conspiracy, other than some not so stable members. Also, searches do not turn up any allegations of those either. Free forums that are add driven may often sacrifice quality for quantity. So if you are a serious trader it is understandable that you may not want to sift through the threads looking for signs of intelligence.

MGD
edit=typo


Stock Trader

@aol.com

  That is why I posted here asking for information. You here are the experts!!

Thanks for the detailed help and it was my mistake on the elite-trader.com as it is actually www.elite-traders.com
I left out the s at the end of traders..The main one posting on that thread, sammySOES (whatever his handle is) is the one who said for people to click on it as he set it up...I never did but did wanted to know if it was a scam on people as I was surprised to see the webmaster (owner) allow a name very close to his being used for something not trading related.

Thanks again and yes, finding intelligent trading discussions are about nil there from what I observed.

I appreciate your detective skills!
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Phishing] Federal Trade Commission »
« Credit card criminals Devbill have a new home !!!  


Sunday, 29-Nov 11:33:43 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [123] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [80] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [76] Weekend Open Thread
· [74] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [62] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [40] EFF Wages War On Fine Print
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Grey Cup on the Web? [Canadian Chat]
· Anyone have a problem [Software]
· Evading throttling with uTP / uTorrent 1.9a [TekSavvy]
· Blue Ray: Samsung BD-P3600 or LG BD390 [Audio/Video Chat]
· Digital Transport Adapter Unboxing Photos [Comcast Cable TV]
· Only in Texas [56k Lookout (Broadband Heavy)]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]