www.broadbandreports.com
  
Search:  

 
   AllHot TopicsCable SupportTelco SupportHardware etcSecurityClubsGallery»»






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Phishing] Ebay scam possible?
 
Search Topic:
  Social:
topic feed
 
Posting
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
[Credit Card Fraud] What is this Scam? They want to buy stuff f »
« [scam] Digital Age, KCSOFTLLC and Coastal Wave Int  
AuthorAll Replies


autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC

[Phishing] Ebay scam possible?

My wife recieved an email with a link to, supposedly, Ebay logon screen. She logged in at this address

»66.165.225.53/cgi-bin/secure/sing.In.htm

When I log on to Ebay through their site I log in to

»https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll···Visitor=

Is the first site a phish? Thanks


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
Yes, this is phishing. I sincerely hope that you didn't sign in with your real account info.


autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC
reply to autojohn
Thanks --- am changing the Ebay password -- sent the email to the Ebay fraud site -- is there anything else I need to do? *_*


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
Did it ask you for any credit card info or anything else?

Your best bet would be to CLOSE the eBay account and start a new one.


autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC

reply to autojohn
No other data was entered except the Account ID and Password. Ebay fraud says it did not come from Ebay as well. I mean this is so real except you get HTTP and not HTTPS when you click in the item number and get the Ebay login screen:

eBay sent this message to (autojohn@bellsouth.net).
Your registered email address is included to show this message originated from eBay.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear eBay Member,

The bid that has been entered in error for the item ( 5078811819 ) has been cancelled.

Regards,
eBay

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This eBay notice was sent to xxxxxxxxx@xxx.net from eBay based on your account preferences. Your account is registered on www.ebay.com . As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. To unsubscribe from this notice, change your notification preferences. Please note that it may take up to 10 days to process your request. If you would like to receive this email in text format, change your notification preferences.

Copyright © 2006 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.
================================================================================== ====================================

THis is the login panel:

Sign In Help

New to eBay? Already an eBay user?

If you want to sign in, you'll need to register first.
Registration is fast and free.

eBay members, sign in to save time for bidding, selling, and other activities.

eBay User ID

Forgot your User ID?

Password

Forgot your password?

Keep me signed in on this computer unless I sign out.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Account protection tips
Be sure the Web site address you see above starts with »https://signin.ebay.com/

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Microsoft Passport users click here.

About eBay | Announcements | Security Center | Policies | Site Map | Help

Copyright © 1995-2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.

eBay official time


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
eBay never calls you "eBay Member". They call you by your full name and username.

You need to be much more careful next time. Don't let something this simple fool you.


Kibbles
Premium
join:1999-07-31
Mission Viejo, CA
·Cox HSI

reply to autojohn
I recieve those at least once a month...I wonder should I reply that I don't have an E-Bay Account.

The person(s) who are sending those out I suspect are getting quite a few Logins to their site...hopefully E-Bay and or the real Account holder can stop any malicious attempts at their Accounts.
--
»www.fahrenhype911.com
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Credit Card Fraud] What is this Scam? They want to buy stuff f »
« [scam] Digital Age, KCSOFTLLC and Coastal Wave Int  

Most commented news this week
· [154] Comcast Van Race Injures 3-Year-Old
· [100] EA Scales Back 'Internet Required' DRM
· [82] Sprint Hemorrhaging Wireless Subscribers
· [75] ISPs To Start Booting More P2P Users
· [75] Mozilla Considering Opt-In Browsing Tracking
· [70] Canadian Regulators Deny Relief For Bell Canada Traffic Shaping
· [67] Cable Beats Phone Companies for New Internet Subscriptions
· [58] Baby Bell Neglect of Vanilla DSL Could Spell Trouble
· [54] Missouri University Makes Kids Take Copyright Quiz To Use P2P
· [52] An Inside Look At RIAA DMCA Letter Generation
Sunday, 18-May
12:49:23
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
8th year online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF