Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Phishing] Ebay scam possible?
Uniqs:
523
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Credit Card Fraud] What is this Scam? They want to buy stuff f »
« [scam] Digital Age, KCSOFTLLC and Coastal Wave Int  

autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC

[Phishing] Ebay scam possible?

My wife recieved an email with a link to, supposedly, Ebay logon screen. She logged in at this address

»66.165.225.53/cgi-bin/secure/sing.In.htm

When I log on to Ebay through their site I log in to

»https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll···Visitor=

Is the first site a phish? Thanks

removed
Crisis Management Squad
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

Re: [Phishing] Ebay scam possible?

Yes, this is phishing. I sincerely hope that you didn't sign in with your real account info.

autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC
Thanks --- am changing the Ebay password -- sent the email to the Ebay fraud site -- is there anything else I need to do? *_*

removed
Crisis Management Squad
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

Re: [Phishing] Ebay scam possible?

Did it ask you for any credit card info or anything else?

Your best bet would be to CLOSE the eBay account and start a new one.

autojohn

join:2001-02-21
Winston Salem, NC

No other data was entered except the Account ID and Password. Ebay fraud says it did not come from Ebay as well. I mean this is so real except you get HTTP and not HTTPS when you click in the item number and get the Ebay login screen:

eBay sent this message to (autojohn@bellsouth.net).
Your registered email address is included to show this message originated from eBay.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear eBay Member,

The bid that has been entered in error for the item ( 5078811819 ) has been cancelled.

Regards,
eBay

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This eBay notice was sent to xxxxxxxxx@xxx.net from eBay based on your account preferences. Your account is registered on www.ebay.com . As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. To unsubscribe from this notice, change your notification preferences. Please note that it may take up to 10 days to process your request. If you would like to receive this email in text format, change your notification preferences.

Copyright © 2006 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.
================================================================================== ====================================

THis is the login panel:

Sign In Help

New to eBay? Already an eBay user?

If you want to sign in, you'll need to register first.
Registration is fast and free.

eBay members, sign in to save time for bidding, selling, and other activities.

eBay User ID

Forgot your User ID?

Password

Forgot your password?

Keep me signed in on this computer unless I sign out.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Account protection tips
Be sure the Web site address you see above starts with »https://signin.ebay.com/

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Microsoft Passport users click here.

About eBay | Announcements | Security Center | Policies | Site Map | Help

Copyright © 1995-2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.

eBay official time

removed
Crisis Management Squad
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

Re: [Phishing] Ebay scam possible?

eBay never calls you "eBay Member". They call you by your full name and username.

You need to be much more careful next time. Don't let something this simple fool you.

Kibbles
Premium
join:1999-07-31
Mission Viejo, CA

I recieve those at least once a month...I wonder should I reply that I don't have an E-Bay Account.

The person(s) who are sending those out I suspect are getting quite a few Logins to their site...hopefully E-Bay and or the real Account holder can stop any malicious attempts at their Accounts.
--
»www.fahrenhype911.com
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Credit Card Fraud] What is this Scam? They want to buy stuff f »
« [scam] Digital Age, KCSOFTLLC and Coastal Wave Int  


Tuesday, 01-Dec 07:24:25 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [60] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
· [48] Broadband Killed The Game Console
· [36] Rural Carriers Quickly Embracing Fiber
· [33] AT&T Top Lobbyist Cicconi Has His Feelings Hurt
· [26] Charter Exits Chapter 11
· [22] Midcontinent Socked With Easement Lawsuit
· [4] Monday Evening Links
· [3] Monday Morning Links
Most people now reading
· Is Microsoft Technet ok to use for my family PC's? [Microsoft Help]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Why is VoIP Better than POTS? [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Heating - my dad gave me this advice... [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· [Rant] called out sick! [Rants, Raves, and Praise]
· Evading throttling with uTP / uTorrent 1.9a [TekSavvy]
· Considering Leaving Vonage, who should I Consider? [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Callcentric and 3-way calling [VOIP Tech Chat]