Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Webhosting » none
 
Search Topic:
  Share Topic:
RSS topic:
 
Posting
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
Any good experiences with 500Mb/s/month transit providers? »
« $7.49 /m -> 5GB Space, 1.4TB Bandwidth?  
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @07:51PM

none

-


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

 Re: Great free webhosting site

Registrant Name:mike `
Registrant Organization:think
Registrant Street1:722 homie st
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:capitol
Registrant State/Province:California
Registrant Postal Code:90542
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.9589658654
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:design@thinkeffect.com

Yep, looks like "Mike `" on Homie St. runs a legitimate operation out of nonexistent Capitol, CA.

--
B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @06:40PM

reply to tshark
-


E_V
RIP Luc Bourdon
Premium
join:2000-09-29
Vancouver, BC
clubs:
said by tshark See Profile :

this is a legit webhost
So why all the fake info?


luma
Premium
join:2004-08-17
Ottawa, ON
clubs:
·Rogers Hi-Speed

reply to tshark
how many forum posts do I need per month to keep my site up on your server?

How much spam will I receive?

How many times will you sell my email and contact info?

What are the specs of the server?
which datacentre is it in?

Thank you for your time.

Luma

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @06:41PM

reply to E_V
-


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

reply to tshark
said by tshark See Profile :

this is a legit webhost that me and my friend run.. we are the same people who own »www.polaris-central.com
It's not legit if your information is fake, homie.

polaris-central.com:
   Administrative Contact:
, design@thinkeffect.com
think
mike -- none 722 homie st capitol, 90542
,
United States
+1.9589658654 Fax --

--
B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

 reply to tshark
said by tshark See Profile :

i dunno. it was his choice, instead of paying extra for a private whois listing he just did that i think. Our server has already been paid for for a year, so we arent going anywhere. We actually are continually upgrading it.
You should tell your buddy that forging WHOIS info is against ICANN policy and can result in the removal of your domain name.
--
B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100


muffins
HOODY HOO

join:2006-04-04
Mokena, IL
reply to tshark
You can pay for a server for an entire year, but you can't dish out $2.99 for WHOIS protection?

Sounds the opposite of legit, if you ask me.
--
{o,o} O RLY

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @06:41PM

reply to tshark
-

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @06:42PM

-


E_V
RIP Luc Bourdon
Premium
join:2000-09-29
Vancouver, BC
clubs:
reply to tshark
The free web hosting isn't anything special with huge google ads. No attraction whatsoever.

tshark

join:2006-05-09

edit:
May 11th, @06:43PM

-


luma
Premium
join:2004-08-17
Ottawa, ON
clubs:
·Rogers Hi-Speed

reply to tshark
you have not replied what the server specs of your servers are.
are they good dual xeon server class machiens or a old celeron machine being colocated?

how many posts do I have to do in your forum to keep my website?
how many ads to you place on my website?

Luma


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

He posted specs and other stuff earlier, but it appears that he's edited all of his posts in an attempt to make make this look like a professional and legitimate operation, even though (from where I'm sitting) it is neither legitimate nor professional.
--
B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100


luma
Premium
join:2004-08-17
Ottawa, ON
clubs:
reply to tshark
Re: none

he just removed his entire post, I guess thre Thread just is not going his way.

Luma


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
What a waste...


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

 reply to tshark
Summary

Most of tshark's posts can be seen because they were quoted by myself and other users. Nevertheless, here is a summary of this topic, to fill in the blanks:

tshark See Profile originally posted an advertisment for his and his friend's "company", offering free web hosting in exchange for some ads being shown on each page you host with them.

I respond, calling tshark See Profile out on his fraudulent domain WHOIS information.

tshark See Profile responds to inquiries about fraudulent WHOIS info, stating that his friend was lazy and cheap, and did not want to spend the extra couple of dollars on his registrar's "protected WHOIS" offer. tshark See Profile goes on to say that his friend will correct the info "when he gets a chance".

tshark See Profile gives up and edits his posts like a coward.

---

Here are some of their domains that are currently showing fraudulent WHOIS info:
- polaris-central.com
- synced.org
- fragvault.com
- hdgamer.net
- officiallydumb.com
- blogsez.com
- blogginvids.com
- wantsyoutoo.com
- blogsplash.net
- bloggeddown.net

I was able to find a single domain that did not have phony info. thinkeffect.com:
   Administrative Contact:
Rosengarten, Michael mike@thinkeffect.com
TE Media
P.O. Box 12164
Santa Barbara, California 93107
United States
6263724598

No real address, though. Yet. :)

--
B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100


state
relax, it's only pandemonium
Premium,Mod
join:2002-02-08
Hampton, VA
clubs:
Since I missed the whole thing, what was the domain he was advertising for? Thinkeffect.com?


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
»www.synced.org's free hosting.
Forums » Up and Running » WebhostingAny good experiences with 500Mb/s/month transit providers? »
« $7.49 /m -> 5GB Space, 1.4TB Bandwidth?  
page: 1 · 2

Most commented news this week
· [173] East Coast Verizon Workers Authorize Strike
· [166] Is AT&T Hinting At Usage-Based Pricing This Fall?
· [149] Time Warner Cable Using Fine Print To Foist Caps On Customers
· [125] Is Broadband A Civil Right?
· [111] The Great Landline Exodus Continues
· [97] Update Your Browser, Dummy
· [82] What's Your Favorite Newsgroup Provider?
· [75] Comcast Hit With Another Throttling Lawsuit
· [73] Google's Cerf: Baby Bells Act Like Tots Having Tantrums
· [71] NY AG Will Sue Comcast If They Don't Pretend To Fight Child Porn
Friday, 25-Jul
20:52:00
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
8th year online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF