
how-to block ads
|
|  |  |  |   E_V Premium join:2000-09-29 Vancouver, BC clubs: | Re: Great free webhosting site said by tshark :this is a legit webhost So why all the fake info? | |
|  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  |   E_V Premium join:2000-09-29 Vancouver, BC clubs: | The free web hosting isn't anything special with huge google ads. No attraction whatsoever. | |
|  |  |  |  |  |  |   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs:
| said by tshark :this is a legit webhost that me and my friend run.. we are the same people who own » www.polaris-central.com It's not legit if your information is fake, homie.
polaris-central.com:
Administrative Contact: , design@thinkeffect.com think mike -- none 722 homie st capitol, 90542 , United States +1.9589658654 Fax -- -- B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100 | |
|  |   muffins
join:2006-04-04 Chicago, IL | You can pay for a server for an entire year, but you can't dish out $2.99 for WHOIS protection?
Sounds the opposite of legit, if you ask me. -- {o,o} O RLY
| |
|  |  |   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs:
| Re: Great free webhosting site He posted specs and other stuff earlier, but it appears that he's edited all of his posts in an attempt to make make this look like a professional and legitimate operation, even though (from where I'm sitting) it is neither legitimate nor professional. -- B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100 | |
|   luma Premium join:2004-08-17 Ottawa, ON | he just removed his entire post, I guess thre Thread just is not going his way.
Luma | |
|  |   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs: | Re: none What a waste... | |
|   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs:
| Most of tshark's posts can be seen because they were quoted by myself and other users. Nevertheless, here is a summary of this topic, to fill in the blanks:
tshark originally posted an advertisment for his and his friend's "company", offering free web hosting in exchange for some ads being shown on each page you host with them.
I respond, calling tshark out on his fraudulent domain WHOIS information.
tshark responds to inquiries about fraudulent WHOIS info, stating that his friend was lazy and cheap, and did not want to spend the extra couple of dollars on his registrar's "protected WHOIS" offer. tshark goes on to say that his friend will correct the info "when he gets a chance".
tshark gives up and edits his posts like a coward.
---
Here are some of their domains that are currently showing fraudulent WHOIS info: - polaris-central.com - synced.org - fragvault.com - hdgamer.net - officiallydumb.com - blogsez.com - blogginvids.com - wantsyoutoo.com - blogsplash.net - bloggeddown.net
I was able to find a single domain that did not have phony info. thinkeffect.com:
Administrative Contact: Rosengarten, Michael mike@thinkeffect.com TE Media P.O. Box 12164 Santa Barbara, California 93107 United States 6263724598 No real address, though. Yet. :)
-- B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100 | |
|  |   state stress magnet Premium,Mod join:2002-02-08 Hampton, VA clubs:  | Re: Summary Since I missed the whole thing, what was the domain he was advertising for? Thinkeffect.com? | |
|  |  |   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs: | Re: Summary »www.synced.org's free hosting. | |
|  |  |  |   state stress magnet Premium,Mod join:2002-02-08 Hampton, VA clubs: 
Host: Webhosting Sonic.net UK Broadband Washington & Balti.. UK Chat
| Re: Summary Thanks for the link (let Google come slurp the topic up). I wonder though, and this is open to interpretation, would forcing the Yahoo! Publisher Network ads be a violation of their TOS?
said by The Yahoo official TOS :NO RESALE OF SERVICE You agree not to reproduce, duplicate, copy, sell, trade, resell or exploit for any commercial purposes, any portion of the Service, use of the Service or access to the Service. -- "To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research. -- Steven Wright | |
|  |  |  |  |  tshark
join:2006-05-09
2 edits | Re: Summary I am not a coward. I only posted a small ad for my webhost to begin with, but after much scrutiny I decided to make a better post. To say this hosting company is not "legit" is foolish. You just are trying to act like you are better than everyone else. This webhosting company is legit, Im guessing this forum gets a lot of scam sites, but I wouldnt know of any of that because I just joined this forum a few days ago. I tried to make up for my juvenile approach to advertising my webhost site but that doesnt really matter anymore. I dont care about what you think removed because I am not a child and "flaming" me doesnt hurt me. And im glad that you find excitment in putting other people down. But here is a helpful suggestion: Why dont you put all of your effort you showed in this thread into your career and make something of your life.
And furthermore I bet you dont even know anything about Kevin Smith (your avator) or any of his accomplishments. | |
|  |  |  |  |  |   removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs:
| Re: Summary Yes, of course, it's my fault that you and your business look unprofessional. 
said by tshark :I am not a coward. I only posted a small ad for my webhost to begin with, but after much scrutiny I decided to make a better post. You couldn't take the heat, so you edited your posts. Replacing all of your posts with dashes doesn't really seem like "a better post" to me... it still looks like you took the coward's way out, editing your posts instead of handling the situation professionally.
said by tshark :To say this hosting company is not "legit" is foolish. No, it's not. Would you buy, say, a house from an agent who has his business registered under a nonexistent address in a nonexistent city? I wouldn't. Same goes for web hosting... or anything else, for that matter.
Granted, this has since been cleaned up, but the fact that it was phony to begin with brings up a few red flags to me.
said by tshark :You just are trying to act like you are better than everyone else. This webhosting company is legit, Im guessing this forum gets a lot of scam sites, but I wouldnt know of any of that because I just joined this forum a few days ago. Here's a tip: lurk more. Here's another tip: read more.
Also, while you're at it, take a look at #3 in the "Before you post..." screen. (this is the screen you see before making a new topic)
said by tshark :I tried to make up for my juvenile approach to advertising my webhost site but that doesnt really matter anymore. Actually, yes, it does matter. Instead of gracefully saying "yeah, looks like we dropped the ball on getting our info listed, let's get it fixed so we don't look like a bunch of peckerwoods" you edited your posts and replied to me with a bunch of nonsense.
said by tshark :I dont care about what you think removed because I am not a child and "flaming" me doesnt hurt me. And im glad that you find excitment in putting other people down. While I do find a fair amount of excitement in putting other people down, I haven't put anybody down in this topic. I'm just telling it like it is. Once again, take a look at #3 in the "Before you post..." screen.
said by tshark :But here is a helpful suggestion: Why dont you put all of your effort you showed in this thread into your career and make something of your life. I have already, but thanks for the advice!
said by tshark :And furthermore I bet you dont even know anything about Kevin Smith (your avator) or any of his accomplishments. You've lost the bet. Sorry.  -- B | irc.removed.us - #dslr | Give me a ring: 718-606-4100 | |
|  |  |  |  |  |   big greg Premium,MVM,Ex-Mod 2005-6 join:2003-10-11 Boston, MA clubs: 
| Well, it seems that you (and your friend) have shown us what you will deal with if you choose to host with »www.synced.org or »www.polaris-central.com
We have had many web hosts come here, get a little criticism, and explain themselves OR change their service. Those guys are not only providing exposure to their service, they are improving their service.
As I'm sure you know, reputation and service quality are two very important business goals of any hosting provider. Your demonstration of your maturity, customer support skills, and how you handle adversity has shown us all how much we can trust you (or your friend) to handle our hosting needs. Thanks for doing the community a huge service.
We would like to hear from you (or your friend) if you are interested in repairing the damage you (or your friend) have done to your reputation here. We are generally pretty friendly here in this forum (unless you try to lie to us).
Just as a reminder to everyone: the "Before you post" page that removed is referring to is called the "posting rules" and can be found by clicking the "Rules?" button at the top of the page you are reading now or by following this link »Posting Rules - Webhosting -- I shall not cause harm to any vehicle nor the personal contents thereof, nor through inaction let that vehicle or the personal contents thereof come to harm. | |
|   GilbertMark Premium join:2001-05-02 Gilbert, AZ 1 edit | T-shark you know how to put people off fast. I love the ignore user feature here. | |
|  | |  |
|