All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
uniqs
ttugrad95
join:2004-01-27
Allen, TX

ttugrad95

Comcast HDTV with DVR

I have been using Tivo for a couple years and for the most part love the way it worked. Their customer service has been somewhat lacking recently and I have been interested in other options but declined to do so because I have only basic cable. Even though I only pay for the basic I don't think I have a trap because I get channels up to 99. With the Tivo this gave me more than enough TV to watch. I also had a seperate on air HDTV tuner but rarely used it because I am addicted to skipping the commericials. After a few calls to Comcast I found out that I could add HDTV and DVR without upgrading to the digital packages which add channels I don't watch. I picked the box up Friday (yes they let me do this), its a Motorola 6412. I can't express how dissapointed I am in this. The pixelation on most HDTV channels make them unwatchable. I recorded the NASCAR race and tried to watch it last night and ended up skipping to the end just to see who won. Discovery HD is always beautiful but the rest are crap. On top of this 1/2 of the time you tune to a channel and it says "this channel will be available shortly" and you have to turn the tuner off and on to get it on. Not good if you want to rely on unatended recording. The DVR is not any better. While I don't have a problem with the operation of it I've had problems deleting recordings, I have had to unplug the reciever to do a hard reset in order to play back recordings. I've had recordings start 30 minutes late, and end 45 minutes early. I can't figure out what, if anything I am doing to stop these recordings. It has dual tuner and I have not tried to record more than 1 thing at a time and I should be able to change channels at will. I have not been able to watch an entire show all weekend either due to bad pixelation or incomplete recordings. I don't know if I can bear with this or not. Sorry for the rant but I've bee