Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » My fellow forum users
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
318
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
migclub.com Scam »
« [Phishing] More paypal phishing  
AuthorAll Replies

oachalon

join:2002-10-03
Mentor, OH

My fellow forum users

I was checking my credit card statement and I noticed a charge of $35.90 on there that i didnt make from a dr *swreg inc cardquery.com mn. I immediately called my credit card company and I got the usual bs and they reported it and will go from there. Since they didnt satisfy my wants, I did a little research. I went to cardquery.com and there was an option to check out the invoice so i put in some info and found out what was purchased. it was diskspeed 1.2. I also found out the persons email address that purchased this item. The email address is ucoyotequ@juno.com. I was wondering if you guys could somehow get some information from this or not. Or if you cant, just somehow make this guys email address pretty much rendered useless by tons of emails sent to him. Just this scum on this Earth pisses me off. Had to get it off my chest.

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL


1 edit
Can you provide some additional info?. The crucial piece of the puzzle that is missing is what company or entity originated the charge.

"swreg inc cardquery.com mn" appears to be a division of Digital River and may be just an agent who processes submitted card charges on behalf of affiliates. It is the originator of the charge that we need to know the name of in order to dig some more??.

Charges for "downloaded software" are a common scam tactic for laundering stolen card data, and "diskspeed 1.2" does not strike me as a current software that some one would legitimately pay $35.90 to download. In fact the only reference to diskspeed 1.2 that I can find is from circa 1998. So until you can provide more info on who injected the charge I am suspicious that this may not have been a purchase, but instead a typical laundering scam.

In order to meet my definition of a bona fide billing agent cardquery.com would need to quickly provide crucial invoice data for the "online transaction", and an email address of the "purchaser" does not cut it. You need to be provided with which company and the website that originated the transaction, and the ip address from where the card data was entered from.

Do not assume that some schmuck with an email address of ucoyotequ@juno.com, who has your full name, address, card number, exp date and 3 digit cvv2 code, decided to begin their crime spree with your card by going online and downloading some software with a name and version that only returns a few ancient Google hits.

You may also have to "lean" on your bank some more. When they get these kind of disputes they also entertain the possibility that Junior Doe got his hands on his dad John's card, and decided to grab the latest hot software. The banks are not always adept at distinguishing between that and laundering scams. In fact the record shows that both banks and billing companies are routinely lacking in their ability to quickly recognize these scams, or do anything to hinder them when they become obvious by the sheer volume of complaints.

Unless you get some quick answers you must consider your card data compromised and act accordingly.

MGD

oachalon

join:2002-10-03
Mentor, OH
On the invoice it said it was sold by:

SWREG Inc.
9625 West 76th Street
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
USA

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

said by oachalon See Profile :

On the invoice it said it was sold by:

SWREG Inc.
9625 West 76th Street
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
USA
I am assuming that SWREG was acting as a billing agent and not as a direct vendor see: »www.swreg.org/ and »www.swreg.org/pricing.htm If that is the case, they should be able to provide you with a more detailed invoice such as the sample they list on their website.



ref:»www.swreg.org/sample_email.htm

Notice that in the above sample the "vendoraddress.com" refers to the client domain where the actual sale took place and the IP address of where the transaction originated is also listed.

More than likely when your bank requests supporting documentation to validate your charge, then a credit will be issued. If the initial verbal dispute is not followed up with written confirmation then make sure it is resolved within 60 days of the card statement date where the charge first appeared. To preserve your legal rights you must dispute the charge in writing within that time-frame.

Assuming the credit is issued, it still leaves the issue of how your card data was compromised. If it were me, I would want the card cancelled and replaced.

Even though your Bank is processing this as a disputed charge, you should follow up with SWREG to obtain the additional data that the above sample invoice includes. i.e. the originating IP address and the domain where the transaction originated, for example: »www.softtag.com/about.html

Please keep us posted.

MGD
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbustersmigclub.com Scam »
« [Phishing] More paypal phishing  


Thursday, 26-Nov 08:16:18 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [105] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [104] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [95] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [85] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [63] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [48] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [34] Senators Want ACTA Made Public
· [32] Despite Billions In USF Fees, U.S. Libraries Lack Bandwidth
· [30] Earthlink Suffers From Major E-mail Outage
· [30] AT&T Offers New Prepaid Wireless plans
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Whats the big deal about being "Old School"....? [World of Warcraft]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· I'll Just Unplug That... [No, I Will Not Fix Your #@$!! Computer]
· [Config] cisco asa 5505 with multiple outside IP addresses [Cisco]
· [Snow Leopard] NFS Mounts - no more Directory Utility [All Things Macintosh]
· USA made drywall problems. [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Fiber to the Premises [Comcast HSI]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]