  geepea
@telus.net
| Worried about Firefox trojan
Hi, For the last while sometimes when I'm surfing my pands firewall pops up an amber alert saying Firefox has been altered do you wish to deny/give access. Also, in my program list it shows PAVFIRES (not responding).
Whenever I shutdown my computer DDE Server not responding alert comes up and I have to click on 'end task'. When I reboot PAVFIRES is not on the list, but as soon as I start surfing it shows up on the list as not responding. Every now and then the Panda alert that foxfire has been altered comes up asking for access. Are all these things related. Is it possible that I have that Firefox trojan? How do I know if I have it. I've been granting access becasue I thought maybe firefox was just updating itself. Help would be greatly appreciated. |
|
  hpguru Curb Your Dogma Premium join:2002-04-12 | What sites that you were surfing triggered this? |
|
  geepea
@telus.net | reply to geepea I was on Futureshop canada website this morining the last time the amber alert came up. |
|
  AB Premium join:2006-04-04 Leesburg, VA
| reply to geepea Whether or not you have some malware or technical issue, I can't say. But I hope you realize that any firewall worth it's salt notices when ANY program that connects to the Internet has been altered, e.g., updated. It will ask for permission to access, at which time you need to allow or deny. Possibly you have not granted that permission, yet the firewall allows a half-assed connection anyway? Have you recently scanned your system for malware? -- Your modern ways frighten and confuse me. |
|
  richtig Music Is Emotion Premium join:2003-02-19 Australia clubs: | reply to geepea Have you recently been using Panda Anti-Virus? PAVFIRES is a module of that application. |
|
  justin Australian join:1999-05-28 Brooklyn, NY | reply to geepea Are you sure it isn't firefox trying to upgrade itself? the latest versions download updates in the background then ask if you want to install them now or later next time you use it. |
|
  hpguru Curb Your Dogma Premium join:2002-04-12 | reply to geepea That site seems okay to me but pavfires.exe is part of your Panda AV application. Could be that the site is using some non-malicious code that just happens to cause Panda to choke on a false positive. |
|