site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
4912
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies

x17451745

join:2006-09-13
Beverly Hills, CA

[Scam] Victim of Romania Ebay fraud

Would Anyone know how to get intouch with the police in Romania
Last week, this guy live in Onesti BC Romania
He scammed me $450USD from eBay trade and cashed out my Western Union account

I want this guy pay for his crime
His email account 'alpha_x@zappmobile.ro' and Andrew_p1963@yahoo.com

His realy name is First name: Bogdan
> > > Last name: Nicolae
> > > Address: Republicii 36
> > > City: Onesti
> > > State: BC
> > > Country: Romania
> > > Zip Code: 601024
I would appreciated if someone can report this to the local police or FBI

Another address

Contact name: Nicolae Bogdan
> > > Contact address: Alexandru cel bun nr. 7
> > > Onesti, BC, 601024 , Romania

Western Union said this person has real name on the ID


removed
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
kudos:36

Sorry if this sounds overly negative, but you're not going to see a penny of your money ever again. The scammer's name you have is most likely fake. Western Union does require ID when picking up money, but in many third world countries (Romania and Nigeria are perfect examples) you can just bribe the WU clerk to get around the ID requirement.

Reporting this to the authorities is nice for statistical purposes and whatnot, but other than that, it's pointless. Just chalk it up to a very expensive lesson... hopefully you'll be more careful next time.

Nevertheless, here are some URLs worth checking out:
»www.lookstoogoodtobetrue.com
»www.ic3.gov
»www.politiaromana.ro/Engleza/dir···elor.htm

Remember, if it looks too good to be true...
--
irc.removed.us - #dslr | DSLR Phishtracker | Morning Glory Comics | Email: removed@dslr.net | Phone: 718-606-4100


MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

1 edit

reply to x17451745

said by x17451745:

Would Anyone know how to get intouch with the police in Romania.
Be aware that fake/stolen id's are a dime a dozen in Romania.
You should go to the Romanian cyber crime center eFrauda.ro »www.efrauda.ro/efrauda/admin/def···0&lang=2 and file a report: »www.efrauda.ro/efrauda_secure/ad···1&lang=2

Was this an actual eBay transaction or "off" Ebay. Can you give more details so others can be alerted also. I assume it was "electronics" ??

Unfortunately about the worst thing that happens is they get profiled with their picture on DSLR.

MGD
Edit=typo

x17451745

join:2006-09-13
Beverly Hills, CA

reply to x17451745
I don't know how he did it but he was able to spoof email
His email from Andrew_p1963@yahoo.com "I`ve started the transaction with eBay.You should check your inbox and bulk folder of the mail that is registered to them.

and send legit email from aw-confirm@ebay.com and indicated I won the Item and send me two emails with direction of payment
After email back and forth in the spoof email indicated he has ebay has hold $3500 for security trust trade so if this happen to return or defective so ebay Trust Trade can reimburst me

But I got email from eBay that was a fake email

I traced the email from this IP [209.191.88.237]
Return-Path: andrew_p1963@yahoo.com
and with another email from alpha_x@zappmobil.ro in Romania

Western Union told me he cashed the money on the next day

Below is eBay listing:

BRAND NEW IN FACTORY SEALED BOX !
Lowrance® LCX-111C HD 50/200 kHz Sonar/GPS+WAAS Combo
Sonar/mapping GPS+WAAS performance takes a giant leap into the future with Lowrance advancements in LCX-series of super-high-res, sunlight-readable 256-color TFT, SVGA technologies. Now, LCX "HD" models offer a rugged, built-in, shock-resistant 20GB internal hard drive, pre-loaded with all the exquisitely-detailed mapping and charts you could ever need for coastal and inland navigation in the continental U.S
• Dual-frequency 50/200 kHz transducer (8,000/4,000 watts peak-to-peak power)
• FlashGraf™
• COLORLINE™
• Fluorescent cold cathode backlighting
• High-speed screen updates and internal back-up memory
• 12-parallel-channel GPS+WAAS precision with LGC-2000 receiver/antenna
• Digital media memory card slots to record sonar graphs/GPS trip details
• Compatible with a superb variety of high-detail, plug-and-play electronic chart options
• Screen/keypad cover
• Sealed and waterproof
• Manufacturer's full one-year warranty
Powerful, dazzling, mega-screen marine electronics designed for winning performance for coastal and inland anglers alike! Huge in all ways except the price. Features internal hard drive pre-loaded with high-detail mapping, and incredible 600Vx800H pixel resolution in a stunning 10.4" diag. TFT color display. Combo includes dual-frequency 50/200 kHz Skimmer® transducer for saltwater or downrigger tracking, and temp/speed/distance readings. Available Feb. 2005.

"BIDS ARE NOT VALID ON THIS AUCTION !!!!
ONLY BUY IT NOW PRICE !!! ALL BIDS WILL BE CANCELED BEFORE AUCTION ENDS!!!"
MAIL ME NOW IF YOU WANT TO BUY FOR $450... FREE SHIPPING...
andrew_p1963@yahoo.com
IF YOU WILL BUY MORE THAN 2 UNITS YOU WILL GET A BIG DISCOUNT!
DON’T MISS OUT ON THIS DEAL !
he uses the ebay ID unclepeety ( 13 ) to post this



removed
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
kudos:36

The "you must email me" thing should have tipped you off. If someone insists on finishing a transaction outside of eBay - especially via Western Union - it's a scam. The email he sent via eBay was not legit. 209.191.88.237 is a Yahoo! Mail IP... it's just the mail server that sent the message.

Like I said, you won't see that $450 again. Sorry.
--
irc.removed.us - #dslr | DSLR Phishtracker | Morning Glory Comics | Email: removed@dslr.net | Phone: 718-606-4100


dentman42
Premium
join:2001-10-02
Columbus, OH

Looks like a hijacked (probably phished) eBay account - member several years, good feedback over the years (buying and selling), last feedback last year.


scott1527
Premium
join:2003-01-19

reply to x17451745
i have to stress this NEVER use western union for money transfers.

easy to setup get a stolen credit card make a fake up (doesnt have to work) get yourself soem fake ID and go create an account. wait for your victum to deposit funds into your account then withdraw and never be seen again.



etoast66

join:2001-06-05
Caldwell, NJ

reply to x17451745
The LCX-111C HD is a $2000 piece of equipment. No one would sell it for $450.


reply to x17451745
if you buy 2 or more UNITS you get a big discount...

the word "UNITS" is a drop-dead giveaway. Its a very scammy word, i dont need to explain why, but it is.


ve2nau

join:2006-10-14
Joliette, QC

reply to x17451745
Just to tell you that I've been hooked by this one too 2 weeks ago for 700$ and he's still offering other things on ebay but only for shorts time. I'm trying to work to find him and I'll gonna find him (hope)
I'm working with RCMP and interpol ( international police)
He hooked a lot of peoples and he has to be stop.


MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

said by ve2nau:

Just to tell you that I've been hooked by this one too 2 weeks ago for 700$ and he's still offering other things on ebay but only for shorts time.....
Sorry to hear that, can you give us more information?. What ebay user id was used, what was the item #. Did he use the same email addresses that x17451745 See Profile listed above ??.If he sent you email what were the IP addresses from the mail headers.

In addition to all the other legal things that you are doing also file a report here: »www.efrauda.ro/efrauda_secure/ad···1&lang=2

MGD


Fobulous
Premium
join:2002-08-14
Missouri City, TX

reply to x17451745
Sorry to hear this but while i never buy anything from eBay, i do sell a little bit and when i do sell, i refuse to do business with anyone that insists on paying via western union or any type of ghetto payment system.



l66

@sympatico.ca

reply to removed
Right now and here today this account is being hijacked : The name is hurricane2201. I have warned ebay, the owner of the account and probably the hijackers themselves trying to stop THEM. STILL 5 MORE HOURS LEFT BEFORE THEIR 36 ONE DAY PRIVATE HIGH PRICE ITEMS LISTINGS END !!!!!!



bogm

@b.astral.ro

reply to x17451745
Any results?
If not i'll get in touch with the Onesti police.



bogm

@b.astral.ro

reply to x17451745
How can i get in touch with you?
I want to help you!
Thanks!



removed
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
kudos:36

Tell us more...



E_V
Premium
join:2000-09-29
Vancouver, BC
kudos:4

reply to bogm

said by bogm :

How can i get in touch with you?
Thank you , if it's not too much trouble, your full name, address and phone number - I'll be in touch - it will be awesome to have a help contact in Romania.


bogm

@b.astral.ro

Sorry,I can't give you that!
Anyway,seems that Onesti police know about this victim and they said they have a coplaint.
By!



jabarnut
Light Years Away
Premium,MVM
join:2005-01-22
Galaxy M31
kudos:2

By!


MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

reply to bogm

said by bogm :

Sorry,I can't give you that!
Anyway,seems that Onesti police know about this victim and they said they have a coplaint.
By!
Do you know if this address is a real addess in Onesti ??
I believe part of the street/house information is missing, the bl and apt number. ?
quote:
His realy name is First name: Bogdan
> > > Last name: Nicolae
> > > Address: Republicii 36
> > > City: Onesti
> > > State: BC
> > > Country: Romania
> > > Zip Code: 601024

Is it a address of a home?

Do you have contacts at the Romanian National Police ?

Monday, 04-Jun 05:09:48 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics