Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » Skandinavian Games
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
314
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Spam] SETI emails... »
« [Credit Card Fraud] beware Dr *SWREG, INC  
AuthorAll Replies


mr_slick

join:2003-05-22
Lynnwood, WA

Skandinavian Games

Just found a charge for 20.25 on my cc for SKANDINAVIAN GAMES. Called the bank and all they could tell me was that it was a "computer software store" located in REYKJAVIK, Iceland.

I am unsure how I was compromised and am in the process of getting my account closed / changed. I am always very cautious with my cc# and do not buy from unknown vendors (checking for malware anyways, although i usually do my online transactions at work (much tighter security)).

I searched this site and googled, but did not come up with anything. Anyone else heard of this?

I've only used this card 3 times this month (netflix, verizon cell and groceries once).

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

said by mr_slick See Profile :

....I searched this site and googled, but did not come up with anything. Anyone else heard of this?

I've only used this card 3 times this month (netflix, verizon cell and groceries once).
That is probably a front operation (fake company) set up in order to obtain a merchant billing account to process stolen card data. There are several criminal organizations that have been using this modus operandi for several years.

Based on a considerable amount of accumulated previous data, it is most likely that your card was not obtained from any recent online transaction or a B&M P.O.S. transaction. The victim purchase history of the other scams shows no common theme. Some either never used their cards online, or never made a purchase with that card period. The scam charge was the first ever use of the card. Of course your specific case could be different, though I doubt it.

The following would be very helpfull in trying to match this to a previous specific criminal group.

•A phone number listed alongside the charge line item.

•A partial website name that may appear alongside the line item charge.

If not, you could contact the bank and ask for the additional info that came from the merchant billing account that processed the charge. Finding the website name will be extremely helpful, and will allow other potential victims to be alerted via a search engine.

Cancelling the card was the correct thing to do as they will hit it repeatedly.

MGD

K Patterson
Premium,MVM
join:2006-03-12
Columbus, OH
reply to mr_slick
This sounds a lot like our old friends at Pluto.

Mastercard or Visa or?


mr_slick

join:2003-05-22
Lynnwood, WA

reply to mr_slick
MGD: According to the telephone rep. at the bank there was no phone# or address (web or b&m) except Reykjavik, Iceland.
On my statement all I see is a ref#.

K Patterson: Visa.

If I come across anymore info, I will pass it on. I am currently waiting for a new card and some paperwork I have to fill out to dispute the charge.

Thanks!

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Yes it sure does sound like the Pluto/Devbill group again

said by mr_slick See Profile :

MGD: According to the telephone rep. at the bank there was no phone# or address (web or b&m) except Reykjavik, Iceland.
On my statement all I see is a ref#.

K Patterson: Visa.

If I come across anymore info, I will pass it on. ...
Thanks!
Thanks, and yes please do report back with any additional info that you get.

In many cases when they set up the fake websites they use common names that return lots of search hits. They also insert "no robots" code in the site so search engines will not pick them up.

MGD


Bella

@comcast.net

reply to mr_slick
I have the same problem. I bot a game MCF Prime Suspects. Its a mystery game. I have to reinstall my OS and I lost all that was on my computer, I wanted to reinstall the game that I was charged 21.95 for but to no avail. The internet search has turned up nothing.

Bells

vaisg

join:2005-09-11

MCF Prime Suspects is from Yahoo.

Try this »help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/games/···-03.html

Or perhaps you should contact Yahoo for help.


Bella

@comcast.net

reply to mr_slick
Hello, I thank you much for the reply. I purchase many games from Yahoo and GameHouse, but unfortunately I did not purchase MCF Prime Suspects from either. My search continues.
Have a great day on purpose!!!!

Thx Bells
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Spam] SETI emails... »
« [Credit Card Fraud] beware Dr *SWREG, INC  


Sunday, 08-Nov 23:42:01 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [156] Cable Uncapper Faces Criminal Charges
· [140] AT&T Sues Verizon Over 3G Ads
· [112] Why Run Fiber When You Can Run Ads That Pretend You Do?
· [108] Comcast Is Simply Getting Huge
· [93] Apple Cooking Up New $30 A Month TV Service?
· [83] Bits Of ACTA Agreement Leaking Out
· [80] Will 'Three Strikes' Come To The United States?
· [78] Verizon To Double Smartphone ETFs?
· [77] Verizon: Droid Tethering Will Cost $30 Extra
· [73] Comcast, NBC Deal Almost Complete
Most people now reading
· [NFL] Week 9 Games Thread [Sports Chat]
· [WIN7] Which Services in Win 7 Have You Turned Off? [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Hit and run [General Questions]
· Garbage Disposal and Dishwasher [Home Repair & Improvement]
· My cat is reluctant to exercise. [General Questions]
· Divorce advice... [General Questions]
· TekSavvy site down? [TekSavvy]
· [FS] Motherboard + CPU + Hard Drive + Servers + More! [For Sale/Wanted]