republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » Skandinavian Games
Uniqs:
319
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Spam] SETI emails... »
« [Credit Card Fraud] beware Dr *SWREG, INC  

mr_slick

join:2003-05-22
Lynnwood, WA

Skandinavian Games

Just found a charge for 20.25 on my cc for SKANDINAVIAN GAMES. Called the bank and all they could tell me was that it was a "computer software store" located in REYKJAVIK, Iceland.

I am unsure how I was compromised and am in the process of getting my account closed / changed. I am always very cautious with my cc# and do not buy from unknown vendors (checking for malware anyways, although i usually do my online transactions at work (much tighter security)).

I searched this site and googled, but did not come up with anything. Anyone else heard of this?

I've only used this card 3 times this month (netflix, verizon cell and groceries once).
MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Re: Skandinavian Games

said by mr_slick See Profile :

....I searched this site and googled, but did not come up with anything. Anyone else heard of this?

I've only used this card 3 times this month (netflix, verizon cell and groceries once).
That is probably a front operation (fake company) set up in order to obtain a merchant billing account to process stolen card data. There are several criminal organizations that have been using this modus operandi for several years.

Based on a considerable amount of accumulated previous data, it is most likely that your card was not obtained from any recent online transaction or a B&M P.O.S. transaction. The victim purchase history of the other scams shows no common theme. Some either never used their cards online, or never made a purchase with that card period. The scam charge was the first ever use of the card. Of course your specific case could be different, though I doubt it.

The following would be very helpfull in trying to match this to a previous specific criminal group.

•A phone number listed alongside the charge line item.

•A partial website name that may appear alongside the line item charge.

If not, you could contact the bank and ask for the additional info that came from the merchant billing account that processed the charge. Finding the website name will be extremely helpful, and will allow other potential victims to be alerted via a search engine.

Cancelling the card was the correct thing to do as they will hit it repeatedly.

MGD
K Patterson
Premium,MVM
join:2006-03-12
Columbus, OH
This sounds a lot like our old friends at Pluto.

Mastercard or Visa or?

mr_slick

join:2003-05-22
Lynnwood, WA

MGD: According to the telephone rep. at the bank there was no phone# or address (web or b&m) except Reykjavik, Iceland.
On my statement all I see is a ref#.

K Patterson: Visa.

If I come across anymore info, I will pass it on. I am currently waiting for a new card and some paperwork I have to fill out to dispute the charge.

Thanks!
MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Re: Skandinavian Games

Yes it sure does sound like the Pluto/Devbill group again

said by mr_slick See Profile :

MGD: According to the telephone rep. at the bank there was no phone# or address (web or b&m) except Reykjavik, Iceland.
On my statement all I see is a ref#.

K Patterson: Visa.

If I come across anymore info, I will pass it on. ...
Thanks!
Thanks, and yes please do report back with any additional info that you get.

In many cases when they set up the fake websites they use common names that return lots of search hits. They also insert "no robots" code in the site so search engines will not pick them up.

MGD

Bella

@comcast.net

I have the same problem. I bot a game MCF Prime Suspects. Its a mystery game. I have to reinstall my OS and I lost all that was on my computer, I wanted to reinstall the game that I was charged 21.95 for but to no avail. The internet search has turned up nothing.

Bells
vaisg

join:2005-09-11

Re: Skandinavian Games

MCF Prime Suspects is from Yahoo.

Try this »help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/games/···-03.html

Or perhaps you should contact Yahoo for help.

Bella

@comcast.net

Hello, I thank you much for the reply. I purchase many games from Yahoo and GameHouse, but unfortunately I did not purchase MCF Prime Suspects from either. My search continues.
Have a great day on purpose!!!!

Thx Bells
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Spam] SETI emails... »
« [Credit Card Fraud] beware Dr *SWREG, INC  


Saturday, 05-Dec 10:22:55 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [126] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [95] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [84] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [79] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· UPS - What do you people think happened? [General Questions]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Wife might have to work in.... Iowa for a few months!!! [General Questions]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· Farewell [Bell Canada]
· UBB round 2 at the CRTC [Canadian Broadband]
· Why do you switch distros? [All Things Unix]
· Road Runnner up to 50 mbps is ready ! [Road Runner]