republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » US Telco Support » AT&T » AT&T Midwest » Yahoo.com and mail.yahoo.com/?.intl=us
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
515
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
While I'm waiting for Direct to respond... Sync Problems »
« Just curious - Activity light flashing for unknown reason  
AuthorAll Replies


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
reply to Jan Janowski
Re: Yahoo.com and mail.yahoo.com/?.intl=us

I approached folks in a different forum, and the conscientious there is to block it.
--
Looking for 1939 Indian Motocycle


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
·AT&T Midwest


4 edits
reply to hypercooljak
Thank you very much for that description.
When I select entries for Blocking by Keyword, it is usually based on whatever Ad-Aware or Spyware Blaster scans, and if I see the same name being removed by programs multiple times, over a period of time, I assume it is spyware that I'd prefer not to have running here.
When I put in the Blocking by Keyword, it only affects the Outgoing side of my system. It blocks my contacting that site.
So, for example, if I block 2o7 I can Receive packets from this, (that is why Ad-Aware still turns it up occasionally, but I cannot send anything back. If I put in 2o7 (or anything else that I'm blocking) in google, and hit enter, it returns: "Internet Explorer cannot display that webpage". This is what happened for the titled locations.

Again, my basis for this has been the results of scans from Ad-Aware, Spyware Blaster, and others. They are blocking it, removing it, and If I see 36 entries of the same thing being removed over time, I'm guessing it is a normal knee-jerk reaction to want to block it, because it happens so often....... and reduce it's activity....
In the past I've kept track of the names that other programs have tagged, and the 8 most active keywords are then put into the router...

Prior success stories with this have been Doubleclick, Fastclick, Clicktracks, and more.....

My biggest problem right now is Linksys removed the verbose-ness of the logging data of blocking by keywords. It used to be there, but they broke it years ago. This makes determining the efficiency of the finite amount of blocks that I have, much harder.... It makes determining WHICH keyword was tripped even harder, as I have to knock them out one at a time, until it is found...

Do appreciate your post, and it could be that 2o7 should not be blocked...
--
Looking for 1939 Indian Motocycle

hypercooljak

join:2003-09-12
Appleton, WI
clubs:
·AT&T Midwest

reply to Jan Janowski
quote:
2o7.net is not spyware or malware. 2o7.net is a domain used by Web Analytics software maker Omniture. This will take some explaining.

Every website you go to logs what pages are being visited with your IP address, what browser you are using, what time, date and the exact page you are looking at. Every site. even the one you are currently looking at. it's a default function of a web server. sometimes this information is never looked at and only kept to find hack attempts, sometimes it is fed into a web analytics program like WebTrends or smaller ones like AnaLog or Webalizer. these programs give information in reports and graphs of how many hits pages get, visitors, page views, etc... these programs can extrapolate visitor patterns, gather locatiuon information on users based on ip address, etc... With these reports people can see how their web sites are being used, locate areas that users are having problems so they can streamline sections of the site, and basically improve the site. or at least give site owners insight to how their site is being used.

Most of these programs are complicated and a new industry grew of web analytics ASPs. instead of collecting that data in log files, that data would be collected by using javascript calls instead and sent to the ASPs. the ASPs would then analyze the same data. 2o7.net is a server used by one of these ASPs known as Omniture. The sites don;t just send their log files over because that would waste expensive internet bandwidth. instead only the vital info (server info is usually not important) is sent over with tracking cookies or 1x1 transparent gifs with URL parameters holding such info as your IP, what page you are on, the last page (on the site) you looked at, and a unique identifier so that it knows that while you look at the page in the afternoon it is a different visit than the time that you looked at it in the morning). No personal information like name, address, family size, income, email address, etc. is collected. Also, the tracking stops tracking you after you leave the site where the cookies or tracking images reside. other sites that use 2o7.net have their own unique identifier and your visits at site # 1 are not tied in any way to site #2.

It is a common misconception (especially with people concerned about spyware and adware) that these tracking cookies and images "monitor your web surfing habits". All they do is monitor web site use as a whole so companies can get a picture of how their own site is being used. They are not used for displaying or disseminating ads. They are not used for tracking you after you leave a site.



Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
reply to Jan Janowski
Nope! !

RadioDoc
58ef2c0
Premium,ExMod 2000-03
join:2000-05-11
reply to Jan Janowski
Or maybe your router is insane.
--
Toolmaster of La Grange.


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
·AT&T Midwest


1 edit
reply to Jan Janowski
Dang!!! They put it back in again!!!! !
--
Looking for 1939 Indian Motocycle


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
reply to Jan Janowski
Thanks to someone.... They removed it!! !
--
Looking for 1939 Indian Motocycle


yfradkin

join:2003-11-28
Farmington, MI
reply to Jan Janowski
I wonder how bad it is? Our good neighbors in »Security forum might help to shed the light...


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL

2 edits
reply to Jan Janowski
Spyware from those two links is 2o7


Jan Janowski

join:2000-06-18
Skokie, IL
·AT&T Midwest


3 edits
I block spyware in my router....

The good thing is, it eliminates most spyware from the system....

The bad thing is, when a site starts outputting spyware links.... The Linksys version I'm using doesn't log Which specific spyware was blocked, just that it happened.

In the past couple days the two locations above just started outputting spyware on each login. Prior to this the two mentioned sites didn't do this....

My router blocks it, as planned... preventing me from going to this location....

It's a shame that Yahoo.com and »mail.yahoo.com/?.intl=us
have stooped to outputting spyware....

I'll attach a picture of it in a while, and hopefully will determine which spyware it is..... (By eliminating it from the list of blocked names)..

Shame on Yahoo for outputting spyware!

Shame on Linksys for not writing better code!!!

!
--
Looking for 1939 Indian Motocycle
Forums » US Telco Support » AT&T » AT&T MidwestWhile I'm waiting for Direct to respond... Sync Problems »
« Just curious - Activity light flashing for unknown reason  


Monday, 30-Nov 06:05:40 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [124] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [82] Weekend Open Thread
· [80] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [79] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [63] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [41] ICANN Slams DNS Redirection
Most people now reading
· Are GPS's better today? [General Questions]
· Is Easynews down? [Filesharing Software]
· Considering Leaving Vonage, who should I Consider? [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· persistent connection to qw-in-f113.1e100.net on boot [Security]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Evading throttling with uTP / uTorrent 1.9a [TekSavvy]
· Grey Cup on the Web? [Canadian Chat]
· Options if ACTA is ratified [TekSavvy]