how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Premium
join:2006-05-17
Los Angeles, CA
kudos:2

How long do you wait before reporting person(s) missing?

Wasn't sure were to post this question so if better place exist move it their.

I had a situation were I couldn't get in touch with my parents. They both have 2 cell phones on them at all times, 2 different providers. Called their home number, no answer, no answer on any of their cell phones with in 5 hours range.

It turned out to be false alarm but is their a general rule on how long to wait before reporting person(s) missing?
--
i am not a lawyer but I do play one on tv

TransitMan
Premium,MVM
join:2000-09-05
Dayton, OH
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
Do your folks live away from you, distance wise?
Are there any other relatives close to them who could make "check on the welfare" visit?
Are they in a bad health situation, where one or both could be in danger?

As for a time line for filing a missing person(s) report, it depends on the jurisdiction they live in. Some are 24 hours, and others as long as 72 hours, unless they are children under a certain age, or it falls under the Amber Alert guidelines.
--
PROUD TO BE THE DIRECTOR OF THE CRUNCHENSTEIN ASSOCIATION.

PROUD TO BE THE HOST OF CRUNCHENSTEIN #2

Premium
Los Angeles, CA
Yes i checked on them, live 20 miles apart so i knew they were not home. Not in bad health per say. It was just really strange for them not to answer the phones, it turned out they both by accident left phones in the car which they have never done so before and went to see a 3 hours movie and then had lunch after that without stopping by car or noticing they didn't have phones on them. Just one strange day
--

CylonRed
Premium,MVM
join:2000-07-06
Bloom County
reply to 81399672
For adults usually 24 hours is given for them to show up HOWEVER - some will put a call out sooner if there are special circumstances.