republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » Telephone phish?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
428
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Scam] Free Labtop Scam? »
« [419] Now this is a chuckle...  
AuthorAll Replies


SnowyOne
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

reply to nwrickert
Re: Telephone phish?

If the telephone line is on Hawaiian Homelands the phish scam is peanuts to the real scam. The real scam is how Sandwich Isles Communications Company receives more than $16M dollars per year to service 1,238 customers. Do the math. That's $13,345.00 per year, per residential account! Sandwich Isles Communications also just received one-half Billion dollars to provide broadband to 5,400 homes. Do the math. That's $93,000 per home. All of those homes already have landlines and are eligible for DSL, which even including repeaters, would run around $600 per home. Not that Sandwich Isles Communications is alone in raiding the "Universal Service Fee" fund for this scam. Mobi Communications is attempting to collect ~$1000.00 per month, per account to provide cell phone service to the same areas.

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to nwrickert
said by nwrickert See Profile :

At first glance, the email looks like a paypal phish. But there is no URL in the message - only a telephone number to call...
Yep a phone phish, requested card number entry, etc. The KAUNAKAKAI, HI. MCIMETRO, ATS, INC. number was just pulled, it is now NLA. Phisher apparently could not splurge for a Toll free number.

MGD


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:


1 edit
reply to nwrickert
You didn't call it? LOL

Yes, my name is Herman Munster, Yes, I live at 1313 Mockingbird Ln. My wife's name is Lillian. I have one son named Eddie.




What's wrong with my Pay Pal of Transylvania account? I'm coming to see you with my pet dragon named "Spot" !!
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

At first glance, the email looks like a paypal phish. But there is no URL in the message - only a telephone number to call:

Dear customer,

As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the
PayPal system. During a recent screening, we noticed an issue regarding
your account.

Our system requires further account verification.

To verify your account please call us at +1-808-213-0800.
Please have your primary credit card number available when you call.

Case ID Number: PP-295-830-917

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department

Headers show the mail as coming from Harvard (whom I am notifying).

--
AT&T dsl; Westell 2200 modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.4
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Scam] Free Labtop Scam? »
« [419] Now this is a chuckle...  


Saturday, 05-Dec 08:50:34 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [126] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [92] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [84] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [79] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· UPS - What do you people think happened? [General Questions]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Road Runnner up to 50 mbps is ready ! [Road Runner]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· [Wireless] Linksys WMP54g v4.1 and Windows 7 x64 [Linksys]