  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to Vamp Re: [Newsgroups & Torrent] New malware technique going around?
Best way of avoiding this crap is looking for comments on files on the site you're about to download it from - chances are good someone has already commented that it is a bad torrent to download (in effect a fake - the file is real, but it tries to scam you into calling a cellphone number in order to activate the player, and that's where they get you).
Also, look at how many times it has been downloaded. If it is only a few times (low seeder/peer count) and it is a popular title, it may be because of the Domplayer scam.
I have never seen any of these kind of fakes posted to Usenet, at least not on Newzbin or Merlin's Portal. But if one of these somehow got indexed there, it would soon get pulled.
Speaking of the aXXo rips, there's a row concerning them over at The Pirate Bay, where Axxo is pulling his torrents off the site. -- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot)
|
|
  Vamp 5c077 Premium join:2003-01-28 MD | reply to Vamp looks like a real version of what I was looking for was just posted to torrent. -- != null |
|
  27892353 Delete Yourself.
join:2007-11-06 USA | reply to Vamp Nope. |
|
  Vamp 5c077 Premium join:2003-01-28 MD
·Verizon FIOS
| So I got this message when I went to play a video I downloaded from Newsgroups... My immediate thought was "oh this is going to be some adware player for the uploader to cash in on", So I searched Google and found this.. »torrentfreak.com/domplayer-rips-···-071017/
Anyone seen this crap yet? what BS -- != null |
|