 dougz
join:2005-10-28 Mechanicsville, VA
| reply to dougz Re: [connectivity] Routing issue/customer service
Looks like Meriwest was wrong about there not being a problem with their site. Just after I posted the above, I got the following for meriwest.com --
"Meriwest site doesn't live here.... Please try again later. They are aware of the problem and working on it."
Still would appreciate an answer as to whether Earthlink DSL (or someone else) would be a better alternative. I can't see renewing with Verizon because they have the least capable technical support of any ISP I've ever used. "We're the Phone Company. We don't care. We don't have to." |
|
  Jodokast96 R.I.P Bassman442 Premium join:2005-11-23 Erial, NJ
·Verizon Online DSL
1 edit | Well, here's what you can expect with Earthlink. For a lot of issues that may arise, you will call Earthlink, who will then have to contact Verizon since it's their lines. Support sucks no matter who you go with anymore. The best you can hope with any of them is getting one of the few that has even half a clue. |
|
  Jodokast96 R.I.P Bassman442 Premium join:2005-11-23 Erial, NJ | If they are even still around. »Executives Leaving Earthlink Didn't take Sunrocket long to literally vanish when the Execs started leaving. |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| reply to dougz Using either 'nslookup meriwest.com' at a command prompt, or in the Sam Spade Win32 tool, I get a different result than you: And Sam Spade: I have an OpenDNS account, and I get odd results with their name servers. With "Typo Correction" enabled, I don't get the same results as I get with the ATTIS DSN servers that come with my 'at&t Yahoo! HSI' account: But, when I disable the OpenDNS "Typo Correction" option (you need an account with them for this; without an account OpenDNS defaults to "Typo Correction" enabled), I get the same result as when I use the ATTIS DNS servers: So it looks like something fishy going on with DNS.
BTW, using either the 'meriwest.com' domain name, or the IP address, I get to a site identifying itself as, "Meriwest Credit Union". Oddly, if I post them in such a manner as to create a link in the page, the link errors out.
-- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|