
how-to block ads
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| reply to ff1324 Re: Yahoo's server blacklisted?!?
said by ff1324 :Got a peach of a bounced email today. Seems that smtp114.sbc.mail.re2.yahoo.com is blacklisted. Any ideas? I checked the SORBS database. I could not find a reason given for the listing. Could be a backscatter issue. Hopefully, 'smtp114.sbc.mail.re2.yahoo.com' is not sending NDRs for the Yahoo! MDAs, which place email in AT&T user mailboxes.
I am not sure how to test for that. Trying a nonexistent 'pacbell.net' gets an NDR after 'pbimail2.prodigy.net' refuses delivery, so that didn't even make it as far as the Yahoo! MDA.
The SORBS list maintainer expects donations in exchange for de-listing, so the Yahoo! mail administrators are not likely to request delisting. Short of convincing Cingular to stop using SORBS, I am not sure what can be done.
I run my own MTA, FWIW, and I do not use SORBS because they are very idiosyncratic. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum | |   ff1324 Everybody Goes Home Premium join:2002-08-24 On Four Day
| Yeah, who knows? I guess I'll email Cingular about this. Interestingly enough, I was reviewing the original email. Out of the roughly twenty recipients of the page (SMTP paging) on the list, only about half were rejected for the above reasons. THe rest were apparently accepted.
Definitely looks like a Cingular issue.
-- What do you want to do to the world, Ronald? Burn it all. See you next year, Ronald. | |
|