  woowah
join:2002-03-26 m5v5f6
·Rogers Hi-Speed
| rogers inserting advertisements into my browser - WTF?
 rogers, why? |
I'm using Safari which automatically adds www. and .com to the end of a word when it's typed into the address bar. For example typing 'rogers' would take me to rogers.com. Now I get sent to some bull advertising page from rogers. WTF is up with this?
Anybody else notice this happening? -- All about good news! |
|
 olesz
join:2007-02-19 Toronto, ON | Hey
If you want to get rid of those advertisements just go to the bottom of that page and click learn more and there you can disable the service |
|
  woowah
join:2002-03-26 m5v5f6 | thanks, but it's very very obnoxious to do this. One more instance like this and I'm outta rogers. |
|
  An On
@teksavvy.com
| reply to woowah Found this on Michael Geist's blog:
Rogers Implements New Approach On Failed DNS Lookups
This means that ALL domains now EXIST for Rogers' customers and if your application relies that non-existent domain DO NOT EXIST (e.g. filter spam from non-existent domains), all domains now EXIST.
Looks very similar to Verisign Sitefinder fiasco; customers should protest.
said by Wikipedia (emphasis mine) :Issues and controversy There was a storm of controversy among network operators and competing domain registrars, particularly on the influential NANOG and ICANN mailing lists, some of whom asserted: • that the redirection was contrary to the proper operation of the DNS, ICANN policy, and the Internet architecture in general; • that VeriSign breached its trust with the Internet community by using technical architecture for marketing purposes; • that the redirection broke various RFCs and disrupts existing Internet services, such as e-mail relay and filtering (spam filters were not able to detect the validity of domain names); • that the redirection amounted to typosquatting where the unregistered domain being resolved is a spelling mistake for a famous registered domain; • that VeriSign abused its technical control over the .com and .net domains by exerting a de facto monopoly control; • that VeriSign may have been in breach of its contracts for running the .com and .net domains; • that the Site Finder service assumed that all DNS traffic was caused by Web clients, ignoring the fact that DNS is used by other applications such as network printer drivers, FTP software and dedicated communications applications. If users of these applications accidentally entered a wrong host name, instead of a meaningful "host not found" error they would get a "request timed out" error, making it look like the server exists but is not responding. (No statement by VeriSign in support of Site Finder even acknowledged the existence of DNS traffic not caused by web clients, although they published implementation details which mentioned this traffic. [2] • that Site Finder contained an EULA which stated that the user accepts the terms by using the service--but since mistyping an address automatically caused the service to be used, users could not refuse to accept the terms.
|
|
 dtsang
join:2003-08-16 Kingston, ON | Totally retarded.... Rogers |
|
  metalhawk
join:2007-02-06 Nepean, ON | reply to woowah Simply stop using Rogers' DNS servers. |
|
  Anon Nam
@teksavvy.com
from: MikeRCMP 
| Rogers can force you to use Rogers' and only Rogers' DNS servers, remember that.
Providers not letting you use the SMTP server of your workplace or hosting company are far too common. Why not do the same with DNS? |
|
  Anon Name
@teksavvy.com
| reply to woowah said by Wikipedia :
EarthLink - EarthLink redirects nonexistent hostnames to www.earthlink-help.net, a site similar in functionality and purpose as Site Finder. EarthLink customers can opt out of this service by using alternate unsupported DNS servers provided by the company.
And this is the proper opt-out procedure, not some cookie bullshit, as cookies are erased in my case when the browser closes. |
|
  Exidor Premium join:2001-05-04 Brampton, ON | reply to Anon Nam said by Anon Nam :
Rogers can force you to use Rogers' and only Rogers' DNS servers, remember that. Please elaborate.  |
|
  woowah
join:2002-03-26 m5v5f6 | reply to woowah I just found this for those who experience this and want to complain:
»How to Complain to Rogers -- All about good news! |
|
  anonymous_me
@cgocable.net
| reply to Exidor It's called firewalling (a) certain port(s). Or even being intrusive and peeping your traffic looking for a DNS query and blocking it by a variety of means. In this case they can claim to not infringe privacy since they (presumably) wouldn't be looking into the actual query proper. They could also block known open DNS servers.
I'm certain that other methods exist, but the above are the options that I could think of off the top of my head. |
|
  RogersUser
@rogers.com
| reply to woowah I've recently noticed this as well. I use rogers DNS as a secondary dns and 4.2.2.1 as my primary. Either way 30 seconds after seeing this I got annoyed and in firefox 3 typed in...
"about:config" in the address bar, accepted the "This will void warranty" message and proceeded to type in "browser.search.search" into the filter bar
you should see "browser.search.searchEnginesURL" come up after typing it, all i did was replaced the default value to "www.google.com" and instantly every time i type something in it will goto google instead wooo!!!
Hope this helps anyone having the same problem that uses Firefox 3 |
|
  woowah
join:2002-03-26 m5v5f6
·Rogers Hi-Speed
| reply to woowah slashdot is talking about this now.
»tech.slashdot.org/tech/08/07/19/158208.shtml -- All about good news! |
|
  starlndn Premium join:2004-03-08
| reply to olesz said by olesz :Hey If you want to get rid of those advertisements just go to the bottom of that page and click learn more and there you can disable the service All that does is set a permanent cookie, which is not the ideal workaround, more like adding insult to injury.
If you delete the cookie, you'll start getting the "special" page again.
Also, that Rogers page attempts to set cookies by doubleclick.net (no thanks).
I called Rogers this morning about this. They told me to change my DNS servers to 204.60.0.2 & 204.60.0.3; they also said they have been getting a lot of calls about this. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | Interesting ... AT&T (SBC) DNS servers!
ns1.snet.net [204.60.0.2] |
|
 clewis4u91
join:2007-03-17 Orangeville, ON | Good thing I'm using OpenDNS  |
|
  Quake110
join:2003-12-20 Ottawa, ON
·Velcom
| said by clewis4u91 :Good thing I'm using OpenDNS It's the same thing with OpenDNS. Bad domains are redirected to their search pages. |
|
 Daphoid
join:2005-01-04
| reply to woowah Exactly. While annoying, this isn't anything new - multiple ISP's do it now.
There's nothing big brotherish about it though, your requests for websites (i.e www.google.com) are going through their network, so they see where you go, as long as they don't try and stop you from getting there, it's just fine.
All they've done is added a rule that says "if a website doesn't exist, offer search results" instead of a "404 Not Found" address.
However, a 404 WILL showup if the domain is correct but the subfolder is not, i.e www.google.com/WACKYFUNTIME/ does not exist, so that'll give you a not found.
CHeers,
- D |
|
  Anon Name
@teksavvy.com
| reply to woowah Rogers is outsourcing this to an American company called Paxfire. Their servers are in America.
This is a privacy issue here, as your typo traffic is sent to a company in America. Canadian privacy laws no longer protect you, as your typo traffic is now in American hands. |
|
  quickbeam Premium join:2003-06-01 Ottawa | reply to woowah I want to know how Rogers will spin this once the media gets ahold of it. |
|