spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Gary44
join:2000-03-18
Yorktown Heights, NY

Gary44

Limewire Installed Trojan

A few days ago I downloaded and installed Limewire. Aside from it having installed several other spyware programs that were easily detected and removed by Lavasoft, it installed a file in the Windows folder called dlder.exe. It placed a corresponding line in the registry to make dlder.exe load at start up. Fortunately, ZoneAlarm alerted me that the file was trying to access the Internet and I stopped it from doing so. I "unchecked it" in MSCONFIG so it would not load at start up. After a few days I ran a full system scan with Norton AV. Norton reported that dlder.exe was a trojan virus and safely deleted it.

I'm no expert on security and what I do know has largely come from silently reading posts in this forum. This being said, two lessons that should be taken from this experience:

1) Do not go near Limewire.
2) A two-way firewall is not a luxury, it's a necessity. Had I been using XP's built in one-way firewall the trojan might very well still be running.

Gary

rapamatic
join:2001-12-15
Glencoe, IL

rapamatic

I have used Limewire in the past, and I know it did not install dlder.exe. Could be an issue with a newer release or a bad download site.

As a program though Limewire sucks, eats up WAY too much bandwidth, as do all similar decentralized P2P progs that send all queries to all users.

Gary44
Yorktown Heights, NY

Gary44

Trust me, it installed it. I did a newsgroup search and I see another post saying the same thing. It probably is something that has just cropped in the new version.

rapamatic
Glencoe, IL

rapamatic to Gary44

to Gary44
I believe you that it did install the trojan. I was just saying that when I installed it several months ago it did not.

I will definitely stay away from this prog in the future.

Gary44
Yorktown Heights, NY

Gary44