Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » Malware on grandcanyonskywalk.com or FP?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1041
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Obama's internet monitoring plan moves forward »
« Cybersecurity Plan to Involve NSA, Telecoms (again)  
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies


Its a Secret
Whatever
Premium
join:2008-02-23
U B Funny
·Shaw

Malware on grandcanyonskywalk.com or FP?

Avast! is warning me over malicious code in an iframe on the page. Dr. Web's link checker says it's clean, however.

hxxp://www.grandcanyonskywalk.com/mainmenu.html

Anyone else getting this with another AV?
--
"In the future, that which is not mandatory will be illegal"
"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everybody agrees that it is old enough to know better" - Anonymous


CurtesyFlush
Bababooey, fafafooey, tatatoothy.
Premium
join:2002-08-23
Fontana, CA
I see 3 scripts from webaliser.net that want to run. Not running them, though.
--
My dog walks on water.

beefcake122

join:2001-03-24
Tucson, AZ
reply to Its a Secret
Firefox 3.5 says it "cannot initialize site". It never trys to load.


jaykaykay
4 Ever Young
Premium,MVM
join:2000-04-13
Scottsdale, AZ
reply to Its a Secret
Of course, using Avast, I got the same warning for which I naturally aborted the connection.

mysec
Premium
join:2005-11-29

reply to beefcake122
said by beefcake122 See Profile :

Firefox 3.5 says it "cannot initialize site". It never trys to load.

www.grandcanyonskywalk.com won't load in IE6 or Opera either.

Try: www.grandcanyonskywalk.com/mainmenu.html

Searching for webaliser.net that was in the i-frame pulls up different opinions about that site.

----
rich

Mele20
Premium
join:2001-06-05
Hilo, HI

reply to Its a Secret
The Proxomitron blocks the scripts there. I get a blank page on Fx3 with a toggle switch in the center of the page for Flash. Evidently the site is entirely behind Flash. I don't have Flash Player and I don't think Proxo blocking a script would make the page entirely blank. Bypassing Proxo also gets me a blank page with an icon to download Flash Player.
--
"The same ferocity that our founders devoted to protect the freedom and independence of the press is now appropriate for our defense of the freedom of the internet. The stakes are the same: the survival of our Republic". Al Gore, The Assault on Reason

bobince

join:2002-04-19
DE


2 edits
reply to Its a Secret
Yes, the webaliser iframe is a known attack. Currently webaliser.net is down, so it's not serving up any actual exploits, but the grandcanyonskywalk.com server is definitely compromised and needs fixing.

(Note: the real Webalizer domain is spelled with a 'z'.)

GuruGuy

join:2002-12-16
Atlanta, GA
reply to Its a Secret
Anyone reported this to them
--
GuruGuy

GuruGuy

join:2002-12-16
Atlanta, GA

1 edit
reply to Its a Secret
I get this from avira:

Requested URL: www.grandcanyonskywalk.com/mainmenu.html
Information Contains recognition pattern of the HTML/Infected.WebPage.Gen HTML script virus
--
GuruGuy


Grail Knight
Who Dares Wins
Premium
join:2003-05-31
reply to Its a Secret
Fx v3.5.1 says it "Can not initialize."
--
"Facts not FUD!"

GuruGuy

join:2002-12-16
Atlanta, GA

said by Grail Knight See Profile :

Fx v3.5.1 says it "Can not initialize."
Mine did too at first, then I typed it in as

www.grandcanyonskywalk.com

And it worked. After I clicked the little English button below I got the Avira warning.
--
GuruGuy


Woody79_00

join:2004-07-08
united state

I am also running Avira but

when i loaded that page, the HAVP(Http Antivirus proxy) running ClamAV on my pfsense box(which scans all traffic passing though my pfsense box with clamav) threw up this warning before Avira even got a chance to do anything

"This page was blocked because it contained the following virus: PUA JS.Obfus-2

So I would say its infected...


Grail Knight
Who Dares Wins
Premium
join:2003-05-31
reply to GuruGuy
I see I will check it out later then with the manual input.
Thanks.
--
"Facts not FUD!"


Its a Secret
Whatever
Premium
join:2008-02-23
U B Funny
reply to GuruGuy
Yes, I did fire off an email referencing this thread to them.

munky99999
Munky

join:2004-04-10
canada
clubs:
reply to Its a Secret
Has been fixed or something. I cant seem to find any problems.


Its a Secret
Whatever
Premium
join:2008-02-23
U B Funny
No, it's still there.


NetFixer
Freedom is NOT Free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
Murfreesboro, TN
·Vonage
·AT&T Southeast
·Cingular Wireless
·AT&T CallVantage


2 edits
said by Its a Secret See Profile :

No, it's still there.
The code on the grandcanyonskywalk.com web site may still be there, but webaliser.net is no longer to be found (at least with the DNS servers I use/tried).




webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net
Server: 192.168.10.1
Address: 192.168.10.1#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net 68.94.156.1
Server: 68.94.156.1
Address: 68.94.156.1#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net 208.67.222.222
Server: 208.67.222.222
Address: 208.67.222.222#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # ping webaliser.net
ping: unknown host webaliser.net



Try flushing your browser and/or DNS cache, and see if you still get the alert message.
--
A well-regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.
»portscan.dcs-net.net
»nature-pics.com


CajunTek
Insane Cajun
Premium,MVM
join:2003-08-08
Arlington, TX
reply to Grail Knight
Interesting stuff here.. Tried at home with KAV and IE 8.. get similar results.. At work with Norton... site opens right up in IE 6.. hmmm
--
da Cajun Darn I hate Malware

GuruGuy

join:2002-12-16
Atlanta, GA

reply to NetFixer
said by NetFixer See Profile :

said by Its a Secret See Profile :

No, it's still there.
The code on the grandcanyonskywalk.com web site may still be there, but webaliser.net is no longer to be found (at least with the DNS servers I use/tried).




webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net
Server: 192.168.10.1
Address: 192.168.10.1#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net 68.94.156.1
Server: 68.94.156.1
Address: 68.94.156.1#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # nslookup webaliser.net 208.67.222.222
Server: 208.67.222.222
Address: 208.67.222.222#53

** server can't find webaliser.net: SERVFAIL

webhost:/ # ping webaliser.net
ping: unknown host webaliser.net



Try flushing your browser and/or DNS cache, and see if you still get the alert message.
Still getting the av alert after clicking the english flag after the flash page loads..................still an issue.
--
GuruGuy

GuruGuy

join:2002-12-16
Atlanta, GA

reply to CajunTek
said by CajunTek See Profile :

Interesting stuff here.. Tried at home with KAV and IE 8.. get similar results.. At work with Norton... site opens right up in IE 6.. hmmm
That's norton for you
--
GuruGuy
-
Forums » Up and Running » Security » SecurityObama's internet monitoring plan moves forward »
« Cybersecurity Plan to Involve NSA, Telecoms (again)  
page: 1 · 2


Saturday, 05-Dec 07:08:45 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [126] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [91] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [83] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [79] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· Evading throttling with uTP / uTorrent 1.9a [TekSavvy]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· Google takes aim at browser redirection [Security]
· Maximizing Rogue DPS for 3.1 [World of Warcraft]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· [Snow Leopard] NFS Mounts - no more Directory Utility [All Things Macintosh]