how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

renw

@yahoo.com

[E-mail] SASL authentication failed; cannot authenticate to serv

SASL authentication failed; cannot authenticate to server smtp.comcast.net

I'm a Unix sysadmin and I run my own SMTP server. I have a DSL modem, which connects to a firewall, which connects to a SMTP server. For outbound email, Postfix goes through smtp.comcast.net:587, and authenticates using SASL.

This setup has been working fine for years. However, over the past 2 weeks, I've been experiencing sporadic problems. It appears the SASL auth sometimes fails, but eventually succeeds. This typically delays my outbound email by about 6 to 12 hours.

Is anyone else seeing this? Here's the full message from Postfix:

May 24 00:07:45 ebola postfix/smtp[21107]: warning: SASL authentication failure: No worthy mechs found
May 24 00:07:45 ebola postfix/smtp[21107]: 50A7C1873C5: to=, relay=smtp.comcast.net[76.96.30.117]:587, delay=19763, delays=19763/0.09/0.07/0, dsn=4.7.0, status=deferred (SASL authentication failed; cannot authenticate to server smtp.comcast.net[76.96.30.117]: no mechanism available)

beachintech
There's sand in my tool bag
Premium
join:2008-01-06
kudos:5

1 edit

1 recommendation

Re: [E-mail] SASL authentication failed; cannot authenticate to

So you are a non comcast customer trying to funnel outgoing mail from your server on an outside connection through comcasts servers? Or are you a valid comcast customer just using your account info to forward other mail traffic offsite through comcast? Why not just use the DSL providers upstream SMTP server?

I would hope this is blocked via Comcast, as it's not what they are for.

Edit: If you are a valid Comcast customer, can you increase the debug_peer_level to 3 and add Comcasts server to debug_peer_list in the postfix configs (don't forget to restart the service) and then post the logs?

--
Tech at the Beach.
I speak for myself, not my employer.

renw

@yahoo.com

1 edit