how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

random12345

join:2010-06-14
Miami, FL

[DSL] Cannot Ping From Outside Network

I've had AT&T/Bellsouth for years since DSL was still relatively new to residential in the 90s. Never really any problems besides outtages here and there, and performance slowdowns. I have a strong IT background, and I do it for a living so its a little difficult to have to admit "defeat" in this.

Anyway- a few weeks ago I finally decided to set up a home server and a dyndns account to access my files/desktop while on the road. Everything worked perfectly as I wanted it to for about 2 weeks. Then, when I was going out of town, it stopped. Actually, the day I went out of town and got to the other side of the country is when it stopped.

I tried to remote desktop in, and I couldn't access it. I thought it might be down, so I tried pinging- Request timed out.

So, I contacted my friend who was watching my place and also knows very much about IT. He checked- everything up. IP address was correct. He did a power cycle on all the equipment. For about 2 hours we tried things and nothign worked until I gave up and decided to enjoy my vacation.

I got home, and started again on fixing this. I pinged from across the street! Nothing! Traces show it getting to the last hop every time, which I assume was the last router before my home, and then timing out after. I contacted AT&T to see if they had any new firewalls or rules put in place to restrict dynamic dns, or pinging, or anything- nope. AT&T tech suggested it was a bad modem because it was so old. So, I went out and purchased a new modem.