 devzero join:2001-12-04 Elk Grove Village, IL | clearwire spam When I setup my account for clear I created a new email account just for that purpose.
I have never used it for anything. Now pretty much daily I get spam sent to that account.
I called them and asked why that might be. They told me that someone must have read it out of my browsers's cache. Um yeah.
Has this happened to anyone else? |
|
|
|
 SkipdawgThe OriginalPremium,ExMod 2001-03 join:2001-04-19 Mount Vernon, WA | No spam from them but junk snail mail about once a month. |
|
 Reviews:
·Clearwire Wireless
| reply to devzero
Sign-up for Clearwire, Sign-up for Spam! said by devzero:When I setup my account for clear I created a new email account just for that purpose. I have never used it for anything. Now pretty much daily I get spam sent to that account. I called them and asked why that might be. They told me that someone must have read it out of my browsers's cache. Um yeah. Has this happened to anyone else? Ditto, I have the same situation. I know 100% no one else ever had the email address. I know my systems are not hacked (Linux, with SELinux, IPTables, RKHunter, chkrootkit, totally locked down). So, one of three things occurred: 1. Clearwire sold/gave out my email address. 2. Clearwire's database was hacked or has bad employees pulling an inside job culling customer email addresses to sell. 3. Someone between Clearwire's MX and my MX (Colocated) there is someone packet capturing and harvesting email addresses to sell.
Option 3 doesn't follow (unless it is occuring on Clearwire's side of the internet), because I don't have this problem with any of my other custom email aliases.
I'm not sure, but Clearwire did cop to having an opt-out list, which I am supposedly on now. See my chat lots with their customer service: »jason.roysdon.net/2010/07/04/sig···or-spam/ |
|
 | reply to devzero
Re: clearwire spam I chose to make a new email during the signup process. It is a gmail type account that clear is reselling...their @clear.net I have never checked it. Ever. But now you have me curious to see. I checked and there were plenty of marketing emails, but everything in the inbox was from clear. No spam. They do still send me snail mail crap even though I am already a customer...I guess those databases are not cross referenced at all. |
|
 DoRight join:2007-07-20 East Petersburg, PA | reply to devzero Hog wash.. Clearwire isn't selling emails.. Now Google does power these emails.. |
|
 Reviews:
·Clearwire Wireless
| said by DoRight:Hog wash.. Clearwire isn't selling emails.. Now Google does power these emails.. I'm not using Clearwire's bundled email service. I am using my own email server. I have a unique alias, something such as clearwire-somethingunique@myemaildomain.com. There is no way anyone else can know or find out what it is without using one of the 3 methods I listed above.
I never received spam to that email address before (it's somewhat of a wildcard catchall email domain), until a few weeks after I gave it Clearwire.
I posted on my blog the spam (legit marketing stuff from Clearwire, and non-legit UCE spam from other sources) I have received. If you like, you might cross-reference and see if you received any. Two pieces came in just yesterday.
»jason.roysdon.net/2010/07/04/sig···or-spam/
Check on the first image.
I'm highly sensitive to getting spam, because I just don't get any on a regular basis thanks to my email configuration. Whenever I do get spam, I either complain to that company and update my email address, and/or usually just block that email alias 100% and never receive email to my MX for it again.
Most legit companies don't do this, which is why I make a stink when what should be a legit company is doing this. |
|
 devzero join:2001-12-04 Elk Grove Village, IL | I also run my own email server so I know exactly what goes on. Judging from the subjects I see on your blog it looks to be at least some of the same. Mostly the cabletv ones.
In fact I have never even got any mail from clearwire itself.
So instead of blocking it I decided to let it roll in and 'study' it. All of the domains in the from: are registered to the same person in argentina. All the mx's for these domains point back to the place. The domains are newly registered each month. The sites the send these are hosted at 3 different places. Would be interesting to compare notes. |
|
 DoRight join:2007-07-20 East Petersburg, PA | reply to jroysdon It's not Clearwire |
|
 | Clearwire gave his address to spammers. |
|
 | reply to devzero After you changed the email on my accoutn did you get anotehr spam? Did you signup as part of a cleawire/directv deal or directly at clear.com?
Rob |
|
 | reply to devzero I've been getting bombarded from the cable tv ones as well recently. I have no idea how or where they're coming from. I had to enable boxtrapper which sucks in it's own way. |
|