republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Coverage Area ·Clearwire Support ·Webmail ·Wireless ISP Users Chat ·Create Review
AuthorAll Replies

jroysdon

join:2010-07-04
Reviews:
·Clearwire Wireless

reply to DoRight

Re: clearwire spam

said by DoRight:

Hog wash.. Clearwire isn't selling emails.. Now Google does power these emails..
I'm not using Clearwire's bundled email service. I am using my own email server. I have a unique alias, something such as clearwire-somethingunique@myemaildomain.com. There is no way anyone else can know or find out what it is without using one of the 3 methods I listed above.

I never received spam to that email address before (it's somewhat of a wildcard catchall email domain), until a few weeks after I gave it Clearwire.

I posted on my blog the spam (legit marketing stuff from Clearwire, and non-legit UCE spam from other sources) I have received. If you like, you might cross-reference and see if you received any. Two pieces came in just yesterday.

»jason.roysdon.net/2010/07/04/sig···or-spam/

Check on the first image.

I'm highly sensitive to getting spam, because I just don't get any on a regular basis thanks to my email configuration. Whenever I do get spam, I either complain to that company and update my email address, and/or usually just block that email alias 100% and never receive email to my MX for it again.

Most legit companies don't do this, which is why I make a stink when what should be a legit company is doing this.

devzero

join:2001-12-04
Elk Grove Village, IL

I also run my own email server so I know exactly what goes on.
Judging from the subjects I see on your blog it looks to be at least some of the same. Mostly the cabletv ones.

In fact I have never even got any mail from clearwire itself.

So instead of blocking it I decided to let it roll in and 'study' it. All of the domains in the from: are registered to the same person in argentina. All the mx's for these domains point back to the place. The domains are newly registered each month.
The sites the send these are hosted at 3 different places. Would be interesting to compare notes.



DoRight

join:2007-07-20
East Petersburg, PA

reply to jroysdon
It's not Clearwire



Oldjb

@telepacific.net

Clearwire gave his address to spammers.


Wednesday, 22-Feb 20:16:05 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online! © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics