how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

djanis36

join:2011-07-07

1 edit

A question about upstream channel bonding

I have a SB6120 that had upstream bonding and both send/receive blue LEDs for the past couple of months (3 upstream channels if I remember correctly from the config page). I had to power cycle my modem and now I only have one upstream channel in the config page (green LED on send) despite a couple of additional power cycles. Is it normal for that to happen? I'm in suburban Chicago and have ultra.

EG
The wings of love
Premium
join:2006-11-18
Union, NJ
kudos:9

1 recommendation

Try using the "Reset All Defaults" and then the "Reboot Cable Modem" radio buttons in the user interface instead of unplugging it.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

also what are your return levels? if too high it wont be able to bond
--
I'm better than you!

Master Wolfe

join:2009-04-04
Panama City Beach, FL
reply to djanis36

Click for full size
Interesting. I've had upstream too for a month or so, 'net went down for a few minutes, rebooted my 6120, and no longer have upstream bonding either. Did someone pull the switch too early in some areas? Panama City Beach here.

gar187er
I do this for a living

Dover, DE

32qam?!!? ummmm i would like to think they are playing around with the config files on the cmts......
--
I'm better than you!

rmdir

join:2003-03-13
Chicago, IL

Is 32 QAM good or bad? I called tech support because I have a business account, and the girl I talked to was IM'ing 2nd level/engineering who told her it will supposedly lock another channel if it's needed. I just did an FTP of about 300 megs to our server and it went through at about 5 Mbps, which is the rated speed for my level. It never locked additional channels, but maybe because there was no congestion. She said it's on an as needed basis. She also sounded dumber than a box of rocks, so take it with a grain of salt.

GmDude66

join:2007-09-09