Krisnatharok
PC Builder, Gamer
Premium Member
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit

Krisnatharok

Premium Member

Troubleshooting a PSU

So a non-enthusiast (very basic user) friend of mine is having trouble with his desktop. He's given it to me for a couple weeks to see what I can do with it, as well as install a few upgrades for him (an SSD, a couple of silent case fans).

He said it will occasionally shut down on him, especially if he's been using it for a couple hours. My first thought is heat, so I'll be dust-busting it out and then watching the temps as I stress-test it.

My second concern is the PSU. I am not an electrical engineer, so I am wondering if those of you out there who are more knowledgeable of electricity and power supplies can give me some pointers on how to check to the PSU to see if it is going bad or supplying dirty power.

All I know so far is that it's a Kingwin MK-750w. I should be getting it from him tonight and will know more a little later on.

Freddy
Premium Member
join:2005-05-17
Arlington, VA

Freddy

Premium Member

Kris,

I used one of these to test my power supply. It showed the 5 volt line was out:

»www.outletpc.com/ep1827. ··· odO1NqMQ

It worked for me, and it's cheap, too.

Freddy
bbear2
Premium Member
join:2003-10-06
dot.earth

bbear2 to Krisnatharok

Premium Member

to Krisnatharok
You certainly can purchase that PS tester and go that route. If you have a volt meter and a paper clip and are comfortable around the wires, you could bench test the PS outside of the PC. However, if the system is running for hours on end, I would go in the direction you started to and look at heat issues. When you are dusting it out, don't forget to dust out the PS and internal fans too.

You can also feel the exhaust air coming out. It should be warm, not hot, and at a steady force, not weak. You can also monitor this when it first starts and then again after several hours.