how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

cwm1276

join:2004-01-16
Stillman Valley, IL

[DTA] DTA pixelation?

I have 1 DTA which has pixelation and says call comcast on others. History 36 and H2 485 seem to be regularly affected. It does not occur at all times, seems worse during the day.

I replaced the rg59 line to the DTA (short run 20 feet) that seems to help for a few weeks and now it back. The other DTA's and full STB's don't seem to be affected.

The cabling is a 3 way split coming in the house.
1. going to EMTA
2. going to 2 way splitter for STB's
3. going to 8 way splitter for DTA's (5 of them)

This was working fine with until a month ago. Most cabling had been upgraded to rg6 with the DTA's. I had just not done this one until now as it was a short run and the DTA seemed fine.

Any suggestions before I call comcast?

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

unless you feel like spending money on splitters, i would just call comcast....let the tech come out and check levels....could be your line outside has gone bad....
--
I'm better than you!

THZNDUP
Deorum Offensa Diis Curae
Premium
join:2003-09-18
Lard
kudos:2
reply to cwm1276

Swap the 'bad' one with one that is working fine. That will see if the problem follows the DTA or the outlet.

You could also swap it with one of the STBs to see if another 7db(+/-) higher signal will help.
--
one should not increase, beyond what is necessary, the number of entities required to explain anything

trythisfirst

@comcast.net
reply to cwm1276

probably low signal, a three way to a an 8 way is a min of 16db of loss, unless your drop is like 40 ft it's probably a little low and gonna need an amp.

cwm1276

Stillman Valley, IL
reply to cwm1276

Last night again it was working Fine. I switched DTA's and the problem remains. The 8 way splitter has been there for a couple of years with the DTA's without any problem.