antdude
Matrix Ant
Premium Member
join:2001-03-25
US

antdude to lordpuffer

Premium Member

to lordpuffer

Re: Best Linksys wireless router suggestions for a big house?

said by lordpuffer:

said by antdude:

said by lordpuffer:

This Range Extender should work:

»homestore.cisco.com/en-u ··· prod.htm

I used this range extender before for something and it seemed to work well. All you need to do it plug it in towards the center of the home. No wires.

How does that work? Connect from a router and point to the middle of the house? I have never used one of those extender bridges before.

Basically that is correct. You would use your WRT54GL as your Router, and then you would plug the Range Extender into a wall socket in the center of the house.

You would configure both products to communicate with each other so that the Extender will amplify the WRT54GL signal.

When I got the Range Extender, I believe that I called Linksys support, for I needed a little help setting it up. But it was pretty easy.

One thing to remember is that although it is an N device, the Range Extender only amplifies the 2.4GHz band. But that won't be an issue if you use the WRT54GL. It would be an issue if you moved up to a dual-band router.

What is a dual-band router? Is that G and N together? What would I do if I got one in the future (e.g., WRT54GL dies).

lordpuffer
Legalize It Joe!
Premium Member
join:2004-09-19
Old Town, ME
Nokia XS-110G-A
Linksys Velop MX5300

lordpuffer

Premium Member

said by antdude:

What is a dual-band router? Is that G and N together? What would I do if I got one in the future (e.g., WRT54GL dies).

A dual-band router utilizes both the 2.4GHz AND the 5GHz spectrums.

Many devices are now have 5GHz wireless adapters. If you end up getting a dual-band router, then you can use an access point as described above.