uniqs
share rss forum feed

Thadius856

join:2006-06-15
Wheatland, CA
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET

3 edits

Splitting Coax (F-Type RG6) 16-Way Preferably Rack-Mounted?

Started a fairly large home wiring project (9 drops for a total of 22 gigabit ports, 4 phone lines to each drop, and a coax connection at each drop). Everything terminates in a centrally located 19" rack in my hallway closet.

I'm an IT professional (server administrator), so I had no problems designing the ethernet patching. Even the phone was rather easy once I figured out I could hack together a standard patch panel to distribute telephone. But the coax splitting/patching is giving me great difficulty.

Are there no affordable rack-mounted splitting solutions? Is my only option to buy a 16-way splitter, terminate the unused ports, and velcro it to a rack shelf? On a side note, with the runs ranging from 10-40 feet each, do I need an amplifier instead?

Edit: I want 1 modem and 3-4 TVs with live ports. I'd be willing to pull a new quadshield leg back to the demark, split 2-way to modem and a 4-way, then from the 4-way to the patch panel and off to the wall plates, if that would help mitigate loss any. As needs change and equipment moves, I could just switch out which wall plates were "hot".

tschmidt
Premium,MVM
join:2000-11-12
Milford, NH
kudos:9
Reviews:
·G4 Communications
·Fairpoint Commun..
·Hollis Hosting

Coax splitters are pretty small. I'm not aware of rack mounted splitter. That is no reason why you could not build your own by mounting them in a rackable chassis.

With that many splits you are going to need additional amplification.

/tom

Hank
Searching for a new Frontier
Premium
join:2002-05-21
Burlington, WV
kudos:2
Reviews:
·Frontier Communi..
reply to Thadius856