spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

tippy2

join:2010-10-16
Richmond, VA

[modem/router] What is the best Verizon capable DSL Modem?

I am new to DSL modems and trying to help a friend who has Verizon DSL in her home. Her old modem is slow and she has one desktop windows 7 pc (fairly new). She wants to upgrade to a faster DSL modem and does not know what to buy. Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

Demonfang

join:2011-04-21
Spring Mills, PA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·DSL EXTREME
depends on what is slow. replacing the dsl modem will not make internet go any faster than it is. only time replacing it might make it faster is if the old one is failing somehow. if the modem in use is a westell 6100 of some sort, that's not likely to be the issue.

with that said, if you want a good modem, pick up an actiontec gt701d, it's a common modem, and a good one at that.
if you don't want to pay for that, bug verizon to send out a modem (you have to specify a modem, else you'll end up with one of the wireless router/modem combo units).

NormanS
I gave her time to steal my mind away
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:12
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
reply to tippy2
DSL speed is controlled by ISP profile, usually "built" at the DSLAM and BRAS(?) (aggregation router). The maximum sync of a profile is defined by the length of the copper loop. Which is why Demonfang See Profile is telling you that replacing the modem will not, normally, increase the connection speed.

As an example, consider my old AT&T ADSL connection, using an SBC-issue Siemens SpeedStream 4100 modem. On a 9,156 foot loop it will only sync at 5888kb/s, while on a 3,300 foot loop it will sync at 8192kb/s; the maximum rate for ADSL.