spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Woohoo
@qwest.net

Woohoo

Anon

[Equipment] Wisp

Hello, I am new to the WISP business and I want to start a WISP.

Right now I live in a town with 22,000 residents and about 5,500 houses. Currently there is only one option for Internet, CenturyLink, they charge $45/m for 12Mbps. There is also Satilitte Internet but that is extremely costly and almost nobody around here has it.

My plan is to start offering Internet at speeds of 10Mbps-20Mbps for $30/m. I will lease fiber to connect Cambium Canopy and than wirelessly connect my customers homes. I am thinking I will need 1Gbps for my fiber connection, what would be a good price on this? I live like 30 miles from Minneapolis, where Charter has a hub.

Also, has anyone used the Canopy? Would you recommend them?

Thanks for the help.

battleop
join:2005-09-28

battleop

How do you plan on paying for that 1Gbps circuit during the start up phase and where do you plan to get it from?
Chele
join:2003-07-23

Chele to Woohoo

to Woohoo
Woohoo

The equipment will be the least of your problems:( Fortunately, there are a fair deal of options, equipment wise. The bigger issues(to my way of thinking), as mentioned above, is BW and equally important=POP locations. You don't know where to get or how much BW is going to cost you and you already have a price point for your BW! Some people here are paying well over $200 per mbps, hopefully, you won't be in a territory where those prices are the norm.
Look through older posts and you'll find common obstacles, and benefits, to this "hobby" we all call WISPs:)
jcremin
join:2009-12-22
Siren, WI

jcremin to Woohoo

to Woohoo
said by Woohoo :

Right now I live in a town with 22,000 residents and about 5,500 houses. Currently there is only one option for Internet, CenturyLink, they charge $45/m for 12Mbps. My plan is to start offering Internet at speeds of 10Mbps-20Mbps for $30/m.