how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

mr_slick

join:2003-05-22
Lynnwood, WA

switching neutral vs hot

so i bought this new switch with a pilot light on it, and the instructions state you should hook it up to basically put the neutral on the switched side of the circuit. i am not an electrician, but i thought you always should switch the hot leg of the circuit. perhaps one of the sparkys can chime in on this? i have included a link to the product and a pic of the diagram on the instructions.

the existing switch (regular without pilot light) is switched through the hot.

»www.cooperindustries.com/content···294.html

robbin
Premium,MVM
join:2000-09-21
Leander, TX
kudos:1
The hot and leg from the light are not connected. Hot is where it comes into the switch and neutral is on opposite side with it apparently being jumpered to the switch neutral. I think the diagram is correct but you assessment that the neutral is switched is not.

nunya
LXI 483
Premium,MVM
join:2000-12-23
O Fallon, MO
kudos:12
reply to mr_slick
The neutral isn't switched.

leibold
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-09
Sunnyvale, CA
kudos:10
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
reply to robbin
As robbin See Profile correctly states the diagram you produced shows hot being switched.

The upper half of the device is an ordinary light switch. The bottom half of the device is the pilot light.

The pilot light can be wired parallel with the switch (lights up when switch is in the "Off" position) or it can be wired parallel with the load (lights up when the switch is in the "On" position).

Your drawing shows the pilot light wired parallel with the load.
--
Got some spare cpu cycles ? Join Team Helix or Team Starfire!

mr_slick

Lynnwood, WA
reply to mr_slick