uniqs
share rss forum feed

DudeBud1

join:2012-11-08
St Catharines, ON

1 edit

Niagara ISP's - Reliable TPIA's in the Peninsula

Ok....
So after hearing about the downtime with ikTel, and reading other forums posts about "Start" in Niagara, combined with the vague-ness of Vaxxine..... What is the best third party ISP in Niagara (specifically in St. Catharines) ?

I'm a student at Brock, looking for bang for my buck.

I've been through the ringer with both Bell and Cogeco. I do upload a fair amount to the school, but i can't really push the monthly $50 internet budget too far. I'm trying to find affordable and reliable third party intarweb in a Bell/Cogeco dominated area.

silvercat

join:2007-11-07

1 edit
++++1 for Start.

With their Pro Cable Internet Package, you get 30/2 speed / a bandwidth cap of 400 GB (if that's enough for you), and if you're currently a subscriber of Cogeco, the $50 installation fee is waived. Cost for the Pro Cable Package is $59.95.

Docsis 3 modem (DCM-476), for the higher speeds, will cost $99.95 if you order directly from Start.

To check out Start's "temporary" forum (until the forum gets moved for better visibility), go here:
»Start Communications

Edit: also, since you upload a lot to the school, you might be happy to know that currently upload bandwidth does not apply to the monthly cap.

Edit #2: also, you might want to take a look at Teksavvy's DSL offerings, since you get fast upload speed (up to 10 mbit/sec) on the 25 mbit package. I do not know exactly how much the startup cost will be for them.

cybersaga

join:2011-12-19
Welland, ON
reply to DudeBud1
I've been using Start in Welland since July and I'm very happy with them. I don't think you'll be disappointed. Their standard 8Mbps package is $39.95, within your $50 budget. It's the same as Cogeco's 8Mbps package that they charge $48.95 for.