uniqs
share rss forum feed

zeth

join:2012-11-09

Two Verizon Routers on 1 Home Network = Problems

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Hi. This is my first time posting on these forums. People seem pretty friendly around here so I figure I'll give it a shot.

I'm having an issue with my home network. I'm using Verizon FIOS and the modem/router combo they gave me, in conjunction with another Verizon router that a previous owner has given to me.

I have 2 computers I'm trying to sync up on the network that are 7 rooms apart; my main PC/server and my HTPC connected to my HDTV. Each computer has it's own Verizon router hooked up to it via coax cable to connect to the internet/home network.

Router 1 (my main PC/server) is connected via coax and LAN1 is ethernet'd to my PC. Router 2 (my HTPC) is connected via coax and LAN2 is ethernet'd to my HTPC.

Whenever Router 2 is on, the wifi on Router 1 dies and the connection dips severely and drops constantly. When I turn Router 2 off, everything on Router 1 is fine again.

I've attached a little diagram I put together on how my home network is set up, along with the Verizon routers I'm using, as well as some extra devices I've tried using to remedy my problem. Even when connecting the Netgear N600 wireless router to Verizon Router 1, it dies when Router 2 is in use.

Halp?

Springbok

join:2002-09-13
Colleyville, TX
You should only have one Internet connection, unless you have paid for dedicated IPs.

Disconnect Router 1 WAN, Connect Router 1 to Router 2 LAN to LAN and Disable DHCP on Router 1.

birdfeedr
Premium,MVM
join:2001-08-11
Warwick, RI
kudos:9
reply to zeth