 | [TWC] Website blocked??? I have been visiting a website for years until last week when it was blocked, It's an architectural learning site that I moderate in, yet for some reason TWC has blocked it. I have checked by using my cell phone that on AT&T it's fine but as soon as I use wifi or my PC it's blocked so that means my ISP is blocking it.
How can I get it unblocked?
This is the site: »www.sketchucation.com. |
|
 thorin join:2007-11-08 Liberty, MO | i can connect to it fine from my TWC connection here using url and IP (78.47.159.217). I wouldn't necessarily say that it's being blocked. |
|
 | Well ain't this a head scratcher.. I contacted TWC/roadrunner and they asked me to flush the dns which I did and then to try ping the site which I did and it failed, I have tried using my laptop which is new and runs windows 8 IE 10, no luck, the imac running safari had no luck and this desktop running Win 7 and Chrome with no luck, however if I use my smartphone and AT&T 4g then no problem I can connect, but as soon as I switch to wifi (my TWC ISP) it does not connect.
What in the world could this be then" |
|
|
|
 | What exactly is the setup you are using? From the Internet to the PC what is inline? Device and model # please. |
|
 DrDrewSo that others may surf. join:2009-01-28 SoCal kudos:8 | reply to Pstoppel That site is working for me on my TWC RR connection. TWC isn't blocking it.
What IP address are you getting for www.sketchucation.com ?
Don't worry about the lack of ping response, they just don't anyway, it's not just you. Microsoft does the same and like this works fine.
This site looks like it's hosted in Germany. Can you post a trace route to it? The last hop I see that responds is hetzner.de which is the hosting company of the site.
If the trace goes all the way to hetzner.de, then some thing along the lines of either the hosting company is blocking you or something on your own network is blocking it (like misconfigured ad blocking or something like it). -- If it's important, back it up... twice. Even 99.999% availability isn't enough sometimes. |
|
 piperPremium join:2001-04-19 Buffalo, NY | reply to Pstoppel Works fine here
Server Type:
Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
IP Address:
78.47.159.217 Reverse-IP | Ping | DNS Lookup | Traceroute
ASN:
AS24940
IP Location:
Germany - Bayern - Nuremberg - Hetzner Online Ag
Response Code:
200
Domain Status:
Registered And Active Website
domain: sketchucation.com
owner: --
organization: SketchUcation
email:
address: No. 4, Carmody Street Business Park
city: Ennis
state: Co. Clare
postal-code: NA
country: IE
phone: +31.887877678
admin-c: CCOM-50588
tech-c: CCOM-50588
billing-c: CCOM-50588
reseller: Domain Registered By:
reseller: Oxilion B.V. Internet. Obvious!
reseller: Contact +31 887877678 or
nserver: ns1.oxilion.nl
nserver: ns2.oxilion.nl
nserver: ns3.oxilion.net
status: lock
created: 2005-09-09 13:02:18 UTC
modified: 2012-08-13 12:34:03 UTC
expires: 2013-09-09 13:02:18 UTC
query-source: 64.246.161.30
contact-hdl: CCOM-50588
person: J.G. Tekelenburg
organization: Oxilion B.V.
email:
address: Boddenkampsingel 87
city: ENSCHEDE
postal-code: 7514AP
country: NL
phone: +31.887877678
source: joker.com live whois service
query-time: 0.007638
db-updated: 2012-11-12 23:44:46
-- debian sid | apt-get into it proudly anti-micro$oft using aptosid
|
|
 | reply to Pstoppel @therecker, I have a UBEE part number: DVW3201B I connect wirelessly with all my devises, my phone and Visio TV are connected directly to it.
@DrDrew, when I try connecting using Chrome I get »127.0.0.1/ as the address, when I use IE it just say it cannot connect and tthe address I typed is in the address bar.
I thought the site was owned by my friend Mike Lucey in Claire, Ireland |
|
 DrDrewSo that others may surf. join:2009-01-28 SoCal kudos:8 | Can you please post a trace route to www.sketchucation.com ? It'll actually test a few different things all at once and give us a better idea of what's wrong. |
|
 | @DrDrew, how do I do that? can you explain or give a link to where I can learn to do a route trace? |
|
 piperPremium join:2001-04-19 Buffalo, NY | reply to Pstoppel Your friend probably does "own/lease" the site, but Hetzner is the root server/webhosting account
»www.hetzner.de/en/ |
|
 DrDrewSo that others may surf. join:2009-01-28 SoCal kudos:8 | reply to Pstoppel You'd have to go to the command line and type: tracert www.sketchucation.com. Then copy using right click then mark and paste the results here. If that's too much you can try the next part.
Or you can go to »www.r1ch.net/stuff/ftrace/ download the Windows GUI version, run the program, and enter www.sketchucation.com into the white command line box. Then press the copy text button and paste into a post here. -- If it's important, back it up... twice. Even 99.999% availability isn't enough sometimes. |
|
 | reply to Pstoppel
 Trace |
Will this work? |
|
 | reply to DrDrew Here is what I got, I tried attaching but for some reason it did not work, so here is an image of the trace via my dropbox:
»www.dropbox.com/s/hyfd95bqkw3ugu···ce.jpg?m |
|
 | reply to Pstoppel That did not upload right, here is a link to trace:
»www.dropbox.com/s/hyfd95bqkw3ugu···ce.jpg?m |
|
 DrDrewSo that others may surf. join:2009-01-28 SoCal kudos:8 | reply to Pstoppel That works fine. Trace looks like mine, so TWC certainly isn't blocking it.
Either something on your computer or the site is blocking you. |
|
 | reply to Pstoppel Out of curiosity, why are you taking classes on a website registered to someone in Ireland?
Depending on the routing (Mine drops somewhere in Germany, same as everyone else), they may be blocking international traffic.
Edit: I couldn't access the site via the site name, but could browse via IP just fine. |
|
 DrDrewSo that others may surf. join:2009-01-28 SoCal kudos:8 | reply to Pstoppel
That sketchucation.com site apparently had a makeover recently and instituted blocking of what it detects as malicious IPs or activity. Another user posted in their forums of being blocked for no reason, but getting a message to followup on if they think it's a false block. That user didn't follow through and had to contact the site admin to get it fixed. I recommend you try the same.
Link to that forum post: »sketchucation.com/forums/viewtop···&t=48231 -- If it's important, back it up... twice. Even 99.999% availability isn't enough sometimes. |
|
 AsyncPremium join:2006-11-17 Louisville, KY | reply to Pstoppel Looks like you found the answer. The site is at least hosted by an organization in Ireland although it seems like the server(s) may be in Germany.
RIPE (European Numbers) allocated a large block to a German ISP who in turn allocated a smaller block to Sketchucation.
The first few lines of the RIPE whois db make it look like the server may be in Germany.
inetnum: 78.47.159.216 - 78.47.159.223 netname: SKETCHUCATION descr: Sketchucation country: DE
whois -h whois.ripe.net 78.47.159.217 % This is the RIPE Database query service. % The objects are in RPSL format. % % The RIPE Database is subject to Terms and Conditions. % See »www.ripe.net/db/support/db-terms···ions.pdf
% Note: this output has been filtered. % To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag.
% Information related to '78.47.159.216 - 78.47.159.223'
inetnum: 78.47.159.216 - 78.47.159.223 netname: SKETCHUCATION descr: Sketchucation country: DE admin-c: OC1462-RIPE tech-c: OC1462-RIPE status: ASSIGNED PA mnt-by: HOS-GUN source: RIPE # Filtered
person: Octavian Chis address: Sketchucation address: Cahercalla Cross, Kilrush Rd address: 0000 Ennis address: IRELAND phone: +353656823410 nic-hdl: OC1462-RIPE mnt-by: HOS-GUN source: RIPE # Filtered
% Information related to '78.46.0.0/15AS24940'
route: 78.46.0.0/15 descr: HETZNER-RZ-NBG-BLK5 origin: AS24940 org: ORG-HOA1-RIPE mnt-by: HOS-GUN source: RIPE # Filtered
organisation: ORG-HOA1-RIPE org-name: Hetzner Online AG org-type: LIR address: Hetzner Online AG Attn. Martin Hetzner Stuttgarter Str. 1 91710 Gunzenhausen GERMANY phone: +49 9831 610061 fax-no: +49 9831 610062 mnt-ref: HOS-GUN mnt-ref: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT admin-c: SK2374-RIPE admin-c: HOAC1-RIPE admin-c: MH375-RIPE admin-c: MF1400-RIPE admin-c: TF2013-RIPE admin-c: GM834-RIPE admin-c: DM93-RIPE source: RIPE # Filtered
% This query was served by the RIPE Database Query Service version 1.42 (WHOIS4) |
|