All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
uniqs
Waffle
join:2012-11-13
Valencia, CA

Waffle

[Windows] Help with Office Network (T1)

I'm no expert and sadly and where i work i am the one that knows the most about computers and networking. Which isn't saying much.

I am really stumped and hope someone out there can give me insight as to what i am doing wrong. It could be something simple or complicated.

I can't tell if the 1.5 T1 cannot handle all the traffic or if it's the way i have wired everything...

I have 12 workstations , 1 server and 5 VoIP phones. I have 2 Switches networked into a linksys router ea4500 hooked up to a Samsung UBIgate 1000.
The internet seems to lag badly and when someone calls us, they are cutting in an out.

I have tried;
QoS for the IP phones
Changing Switches around.
Replacing cables.
and more...

Network Setup:
5 workstations 1 server > 16 port switch > Linksys ea4500
7 workstations > 8 port switch > Linksys ea4500
the ea4500 is linked to UBIgate 1000 which is connected to a T1 line.

Thank you very much for anyone who took the time to read this and thank you even more for anyone who cares to respond!
cramer
Premium Member
join:2007-04-10
Raleigh, NC
Westell 6100
Cisco PIX 501

cramer

Premium Member

The line is WAY too slow if anyone is trying to do anything at all. Any QoS would have to be setup on the UBIgate and honored by the ISP (not likely.)

Bandwidth usage is easy enough to monitor from either the Linksys or Samsung. (assuming you have access to the ISP router.) Based on that router, you're either a Covad or Speakeasy customer? Both can (or used to) monitor your line as well.
medbuyer
join:2003-11-20
Memphis, TN

medbuyer to Waffle

to Waffle
we have 3 T1's and it's still slow for us...

voip works right though, but the internet is slow...
aryoba
MVM
join:2002-08-22

aryoba to Waffle

MVM

to Waffle