uniqs
share rss forum feed

capella

join:2012-11-19
Villard, MN

1 edit

[Embarq] Trying to resolve modem issues (and make better if poss

Hi, all

Noob here - Well, more specifically, newbie to digging into the technical details of my DSL service, at least. I'm a programmer and build computers, so not a technical idiot completely!

A little back-story: When I moved out here to rural, central Minnesota, I went with Embarq, who, as you know, is now CenturyLink. I've been pretty happy with my service, both under Embarq and CL - until the past couple of years.

I'm on my fourth modem now in the past two or so years - a ZyXel EQ-660R-F1. I'm not sure of the exact model of the the first three, but I assume they just send the same one - they looked the same to me, at least.

During the first three modems I was getting very slow service at times. Finally, the third one just died. Now, with this fourth modem, I still get the very slow download & upload speeds at times, but I tracked down how to access the modem's browser interface and reset the modem from in there (instead of running downstairs every time I have to reset it).

I've been having to reboot the modem every 1 to 3 days pretty consistently for a while now. After resetting the modem, the speeds are great again - until after another day or few and the speed slows down again. Also, pretty much all of the time, my wife and I are not able to surf on our laptops at the same time. And I'm not talking watching videos or gaming at the same time - I mean just browsing web pages. Pages won't load at all or they load very, very slowly.