Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

LFHC

join:2012-11-04
Collinsville, VA

Possibility of getting cable?

Click for full size
This picture shows where Comcast ends and how far to my house it is about 1 mile away.

alfnoid
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-18

None if you want them to pay for the infrastructure.
If you want to pay it they will do it (maybe), but you'll be paying a LOT for it to be done.

They have a metric that I can't recall ATM, but there have to be so many serviceable homes in a sq. mile if I recall. Don't think you meet that criteria there.

LFHC

Collinsville, VA

up to my house there are 9 houses including mine.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

9 per mile is nothing.....

good luck with that.
--
I'm better than you!

anon623

@mich.net
reply to LFHC

Yea you would definitely be in a tough spot there. As others have stated it could be extremely costly to have internet brought to you. (could be thousands or tens of thousands) Even with 9 houses on the road I'd guess a lot of those are set back so far from the road they would still have issues getting service because it would be 300ft or more. So out of the 9 maybe 4 or 5 of those would even be serviceable if they did run a cable.

If you can get any type of 4G service you would probably come out ahead to just use that and pay the overages you incur. Would likely have a better return over the next 10 years than having cable ran to your house.

battleop

join:2005-09-28
reply to LFHC

Unless you want to help pay the bill they are not going to do it because there is no ROI in it. It would cost them $15-20k to get service to you and they would likely never recover their costs in any reasonable amount of time.
--
I do not, have not, and will not work for AT&T/Comcast/Verizon/Charter or similar sized company.

telcodad

join:2011-09-16
Lincroft, NJ
kudos:5
reply to LFHC