spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

trythisfirst

@comcast.net
reply to plencnerb

Re: Arris TM722G purchased from Best Buy?

Im my market it was killed after a year. In the entire year 3 units were sold. All the outcry about purchasing modems, then no one purchased modems lol.

flwpwr

@comcast.net

said by trythisfirst :

Im my market it was killed after a year. In the entire year 3 units were sold. All the outcry about purchasing modems, then no one purchased modems lol.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Pretty sure it died rather quickly as there were not enough sales to justify stock space.

aabaaf1

@comcast.net

It died, because despite paying the $149 to buy it, you then HAD TO setup a PROFESSIONAL install for something most on these forums can do themselves. Screw on a few cables, and use their cell to call XFinity, to get the modem activated.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

yea cause its that easy to get phone switch routing changed, 911 data updated, hooking up alarms, backfeeding to other phone outlets, etc.....
--
I'm better than you!

NetFixer
From my cold dead hands
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Reviews:
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast Business..
·Vonage
·Comcast

1 edit

said by gar187er:

yea cause its that easy to get phone switch routing changed, 911 data updated, hooking up alarms, backfeeding to other phone outlets, etc.....

It is interesting that I never had any problems doing self installs for other mainstream VoIP providers such as CallVantage and Vonage (and I personally know of many non-techs who also had no problems doing so).

The phone switch routing is changed by the number port process, and I can't imagine what part an on-site vendor installer would have to play in that.

The 911 update is done from information provided by the end user, and I also don't see what part an on-site vendor installer would play there either.